01 Oct 2022

Limerick defender earns place on list of 45 nominees for the PwC Football All-Stars

Limerick defender among

Limerick's Cian Sheehan

LIMERICK defender Cian Sheehan has been included among the list of 45 for the PwC All-Stars football nominations for 2022.

The Newcastle West man's nomination comes after a season that saw Limerick reached the Munster SFC final and the Division Three Allianz Football League final in Croke Park.

Back in 2020, Iain Corbett was also selected on an All-Star Football short-list and before that it was John Galvin in 2010.

All-Ireland champions Kerry dominate with 12 places in the PwC All-Stars football nominations - in total the nominations are spread across 11 different counties.

The full breakdown is Kerry 12, Galway eight, Derry seven, Dublin six, Armagh five, Cork two and one each for Clare, Kildare, Limerick, Mayo and Monaghan.

The other big talking point is the confirmation of this year’s overall PwC GAA/GPA Footballer of the Year and Young Player of the Year accolades – two awards that are voted on exclusively by the inter-county players themselves.

Kerry's David Clifford will be up against Galway duo Shane Walsh and Cillian McDaid for the overall award. For Young Player of the Year, Derry forward Ethan Doherty is joined by Dublin defender Lee Gannon and Galway defender Jack Glynn in the voting.

Dating back to 1971, the All-Stars are selected by a team of GAA journalists from across print, radio, digital, tv and broadcast media.

The PwC All-Stars will be presented at a black-tie banquet in Dublin’s Convention Centre on Friday, October 28. The hurling team will be announced live on the night with the football team being released publicly 24 hours earlier.

PwC All-Stars Football Nominations 2022

Goalkeepers: Ethan Rafferty (Armagh), Shane Ryan (Kerry), Evan Comerford (Dublin).

Defenders: Jason Foley (Kerry), Tadhg Morley (Kerry), Brian Ó Beaglaoich (Kerry), Graham O’Sullivan (Kerry), Tom O’Sullivan (Kerry), Gavin White (Kerry), Liam Silke (Galway), Seán Kelly (Galway), John Daly (Galway), Chrissy McKaigue (Derry), Conor McCluskey (Derry), Brendan Rogers (Derry), James McCarthy (Dublin), Lee Gannon (Dublin), Lee Keegan (Mayo), Jarlath Óg Burns (Armagh), Seán Powter (Cork), Cian Sheehan (Limerick).

Midfielders: Paul Conroy (Galway), Cillian McDaid (Galway), Conor Glass (Derry), Gareth McKinless (Derry), Brian Fenton (Dublin), Jack Barry (Kerry).

Forwards: David Clifford (Kerry), Seán O’Shea (Kerry), Paudie Clifford (Kerry), Stephen O’Brien (Kerry), Shane Walsh (Galway), Damian Comer (Galway), Robert Finnerty (Galway), Rian O’Neill (Armagh), Stefan Campbell (Armagh), Rory Grugan (Armagh), Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin), Con O’Callaghan (Dublin), Shane McGuigan (Derry), Ethan Doherty (Derry), Ben McCormack (Kildare), Eoin Cleary (Clare), Stephen Sherlock (Cork), Jack McCarron (Monaghan).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.