Drom-Broadford Limerick SFC winners for a seventh time

Jerome O’Connell


Jerome O’Connell

Eoin Barry was part of the Dromcollogher-Broadford team that retained their Limerick SFC title in Newcastle West on Sunday afternoon
DROMCOLLOGHER-BROADFORD are Limerick SFC winners for the seventh time after a 2-9 to 2-7 win over Monaleen in Newcastle West this Sunday.

DROMCOLLOGHER-BROADFORD are Limerick SFC winners for the seventh time after a 2-9 to 2-7 win over Monaleen in Newcastle West this Sunday.

Despite a late Monaleen rally, Drom-Broadford retained their county title and a seventh since 2001.

The win came despite a tally of 11-wides.

They now advance to play the Waterford champions Ballinacourty in the Munster club quarter-final.

Playing against the wind, Monaleen got the ideal start with Darragh Bonfil goaling after three minutes.

It took Drom-Broadford all of 13-minutes to open their account with defender Dee O’Leary surging upfield to score from a tight angle.

By that stage, the west Limerick side had kicked five wides.

Killian Phair and Micheal Reidy added points as the game was level after 18-wides.

Monaleen’s second score of the half, a Ger Collins free, came in the 20th minute.

But Drom-Broadford finished strongly in the half.

A Phair free levelled the game and then three minutes from the break came their goal.

Micheal Brosnan was fouled and Micheal Reidy thundered the penalty to the net for a 1-4 to 1-1 half time lead.

Graham O’Connell and Ger Collins had early Monaleen scores in the second half but Drom held off their fight back.

The winners then kicked 1-3 to go 2-8 to 1-4 clear.

The second goal came from Killian Phair.

They were up seven points but Monaleen finished strongly.

Mike Crowley, Padraig Quinn and Muiris Gavin kicked points.

Then Ger Collins goaled from the penalty spot.

The lead was down to one point with three minutes to play but it was the champions that showed all their experience for Man of the Match Garrett Noonen to advance forward to seal the win.

SCORERS: Dromcollogher-Broadford: Killian Phair 1-3 (0-2frees), Micheal Reidy 1-1 (1-0pen), Dee O’Leary, Derry McCarthy, Patrick Donnelly, Garrett Noonan 0-1 each. Monaleen: Ger Collins 1-3 (1-0pen, 0-2frees), Darragh Bonfil 1-0, Graham O’Connell (free), Michael Crowley, Padraig Quinn, Muiris Gavin 0-1 each.

MONALEEN:Donal O’Sullivan; Finbar Nash, Richie Murray, Colm Moran; Barry Fitzpatrick, Peter Russell, Padraig Quinn; Brian Geary, Paul Kinnerk; Eoin Keating, Jason O’Brien, Darragh Bonfi; Graham O’Connell, Michael Crowley, Ger Collins. Subs: Muiris Gavin for Eoin Keating (40mins), Jack Hoare for Barry Fitzpatrick (44mins), Darren Bourke for Richie Murray (46mins).

DROMCOLLOGHER-BROADFORD: Keith Noonan; Eoin Barry, Tom McLoughlin, Gary Egan; Garrett Noonan, Dee O’Leary, Cillian Fahy; Sean Buckley, Michael O’Sullivan; Derry McCarthy, Patrick Donnelly, Micheal Brosnan; Ray Lynch, Micheal Reidy, Killian Phair. Subs: Gearoid Greaney for Keith Noonan, inj (23mins), Jason Stokes for Michael O’Sullivan (40mins), Seamus Brosnan for Derry McCarthy (52mins), Brian Noonan for Cillian Fahy (59mins).

REFEREE: Martin Doherty (St Marys Sean Finns).