Limerick minor footballers confirm championship panel

Jerome O’Connell


Jerome O’Connell

There was championship GAA action in Limerick this Friday evening
LIMERICK’S minor footballers have confirmed a 32-man panel for the 2015 Munster championship.

LIMERICK’S minor footballers have confirmed a 32-man panel for the 2015 Munster championship.

Limerick will be looking for just a second victory in 13 games when they play Cork in the Gaelic Grounds on Wednesday April 15.

Victory for Limerick will book a Munster semi final in mid-May while defeat will see the teenagers back in action on April 22 against either Kerry or Clare.

Limerick are managed by Newcastle West’s Jerry O’Sullivan with selectors Paddy Ivess (Kilcornan) and Sean Holmes (Oola). The physical trainer is Darragh Droog.

The management are in their third season at the helm.

Twelve months ago Limerick also met Cork in the opening round and suffered a 6-15 to 1-7 defeat in Pairc Ui Rinn.

Five of that starting team are still involved - Mikey Morrissey, Sean Murphy, Luke O’Connell, Sean Ivess and Richard Hayes. Also remaining part of the inter-county minor football panel for a second season are David Hanley and Jack O’Donoghue.

The 32-man panel represents 18 different clubs. The team will be captained by Mikey Morrissey of Rathkeale with Camron Stephenson of St Patricks the vice-captain.

PANEL: Aaron Murphy, Pa O’Connor, Ronan Sweeney (all Fr Caseys), Sean Murphy, Sean Ivess, Diarmuid Kelly (all Newcastle West), John Wallace and James Wallace (both Glin), James Ryan (Athea), Colm McSweeney (Gerald Griffins), Richard Hayes and Adam Kerins (both St Senans), Denis Donegan (Dromcolloger-Broadford), Ed Sheehy and Jack O’Donoghue (both Granagh-Ballingarry), David Hanley (Ballysteen), Dylan Corrigan and Alan Ryan (both Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Mikey Morrissey and Andrew White (both Rathkeale), Adam Storan and Luke O’Connell (both Mungret), Gearoid Brennan and Kyrin McGarry (both Claughaun), Fionn Murphy (Kilteely-Dromkeen), Michael Whelan (Hospital-Herbertstown), Gavin Mullins and Camron Stephenson (both St Patricks), Luke Cardy, Mark Connolly and Paul Maher (all Adare), Sean Keane (South Liberties).