Na Piarsiagh dethrone champions Kilmallock in Limerick SHC

Jerome O’Connell


Jerome O’Connell

Adrian Breen, Na Piarsaigh, in action agaimst Liam Hurley, Kilmallock
NA Piarsaigh have dethroned the Limerick and Munster club hurling champions, Kilmallock.

NA Piarsaigh have dethroned the Limerick and Munster club hurling champions, Kilmallock.

The Caherdavin men were 0-20 to 2-13 victors in this Sunday’s Limerick SHC semi final in the Gaelic Grounds.

They will now play Patrickswell or Adare in the final on October 11.

This semi final was a clash of the reigning Limerick and Munster champions and the champions of 2013.

Twelve months ago, Kilmallock dethroned Na Piarsaigh and now the city side have returned the compliment. Considering this was a clash of Limerick club kingpins it never reached the heights that would have been expected.

It was a tentative semi final tussle until the final 10-minutes when Kilmallock staged a late fight back. Na Piarsaigh were 0-19 to 1-9 clear with 10-minutes to play but then came the late dramatics from the champions.

But they fell just short. Free-taker Jake Mulcahy had an injury time chance to force a replay but his 64th minute ‘65 just went wide.

For most of the game, Na Piarsaigh set the tone.

They were 0-12 to 0-7 ahead at half time with minor Peter Casey getting four from play and Shane Dowling four from frees. Kilmallock had six frees from Jake Mulcahy to keep them in touch in that opening half.

The second had was only three minutes old when sub Robbie Hanley had a Kilmallock goal to leave it 0-13 to 1-8.

But Casey, Adrian Breen, William O’Donoghue and Alan Dempsey all had points to move Na Piarsaigh 0-19 to 1-9 ahead with 10-minutes to play.

Then Oisin O’Reilly (2) and frees from kevin O’Donnell and Gavin O’Mahony brought the champions closer.

Hanley somehow bundled in a 62nd minute goal and then in the fourth minute of injury time Eoin Ryan did well to force a ‘65. But Mulcahy’s effort from was on the sideline beneath the Mackey Stand and went wide to confirm Na Piarsaigh’s final spot and the end of the year as champions for Kimallock.

Na Piarsaigh will play Adare or Patrickswell in the October 11 final.

Adare booked their place in next Sunday’s semi final with a comfortable 1-20 to 2-10 quarter final win over Ahane.

Ger Hegarty’s side were 0-13 to 1-3 ahead at half time with Willie Griffin scoring four from play and Declan Hannon two. Ahane had a John Fox goal in the seocnd minute but were on the back foot for the entire half.

When Mikey Mackey struck for the Adare goal in the sixth minute of the second half his side were 1-16 to 1-4 clear.

It was 1-20 to 1-6 with 8-minutes to play.

Then some solace for Ahane with 1-4 without reply, the goal from Niall Moran.

But there was no denying Adare a seven point win.

Elsehwere the weekend’s hectic schedule of games has also cleared the way for the draw for the semi finals of the Limerick JAHC.

Into the last four are Na Piarsaigh, Doon, Dromcollogher-Broadford and Castletown-Ballyagran.

Na Piarsaigh beat Ballybricken-Bohermore1-17 to 1-13.

Doon were 1-15 to 0-13 winners over St Patricks.

Both Na Piarsaigh and Doon are second string sides.

Castletown-Ballyagran booked their place with a 2-14 to 2-10 win over Tournafulla, while Drom-Broadford were 2-17 to 3-9 winners over Staker Wallace.

In the Limerick JAFC, Cappagh and Galtee Gaels have progressed to the semi finals.

Cappagh were 1-9 to 0-11 winners over Ballylanders, while Galtee Gaels needed extra time to see off Monagea 2-15 to 3-6.

In the Limerick JBHC there is one team into the semi finals with Granagh-Ballingarry 0-16 to 1-9 winners over Camogue Rovers in Saturday’s quarter final.