How the drama unfolded as Limerick claimed the Munster title

Shane Dowling, Limerick, celebrates at the final whistle after victory over Cork in the Munster SHC final in the Gaelic Grounds
It was a day of high drama in the Gaelic Grounds on Sunday as the Limerick hurlers claimed their first Munster title in 17 years. Here’s our blow-by blow-account of the action.

It was a day of high drama in the Gaelic Grounds on Sunday as the Limerick hurlers claimed their first Munster title in 17 years. Here’s our blow-by blow-account of the action.

1 min - Limerick take only 18 seconds to take the lead. Paudie O’Brien point from just inside half way after taking a pass from Seamus Hickey

1 min - Cork reply immediately as Daniel Kearney levels things up

2 mins - Declan Hannon gets his first point when he bursts on to a loose ball to point from play

3 mins - Limerick go two up after the referee spots an off the ball foul by Stephen McDonnell on Seanie Tobin. Hannon taps over the straight forward free

7 mins - James Ryan wins a Limerick puck out, takes on the Cork defence and fires over from just outside the ‘45

8 mins - Pa Horgan gets Cork’s second point after a pass from Seamus Harnedy

11 mins - Harnedy gets his first score after Cork work the ball the full length of the field

14 mins - Declan Hannon misses a long-range free and Cork come back down the field where Pa Cronin is fouled by Paudie O’Brien and Pa Horgan level things at 0-4 each

16 mins - Pa Horgan puts Cork in front for the first time when he points from play

16 mins - Cork almost get the first goal of the game but Horgan’s effort flashes across the face of the goal and wide

17 mins - Graeme Mulcahy shows a glimpse of his class when he takes on the Cork defence and gets his first point to level things up

19 mins - Another let off for Limerick as Nickey Quaid is blinded by the sun and srops a high ball but Richie McCarthy is on hand to take the ball off the line

19 mins - Luke O’Farrell puts Cork back into the lead when he points from play

22 mins - David Breeen earns a free for Declan Hannon to tie things up again

25 mins - But Cork take the lead again when Pa Horgan points a free after McCarthy fouls Harnedy

26 mins - Cork are on a bit of a roll now. Pa Cronin has acres of space to point after being set up by Tom Kenny

27 mins - David Breen is again fouled for a free. Declan Hannon again is on target to leave one between them

29 mins - Seamus Harnedy gets on the end of a long ball to restore Cork’s two-point advantage

29 mins - Paul Browne is set up by Donal O’Grady and after missing a earlier chance he makes amends to cut the deficit once more

30 mins - Cork get another half goal chance but Richie McCarthy blocks bravely and the danger is cleared

31 mins - But Cork are on target again moments later when Cronin gets his second from play

33 mins- After wides from Paul Browne and James Ryan, Sean Tobin stops the rot with his first from play

34 mins - And a minute later, Donal O’Grady powers forward, is fouled and Declan Hannon levels things up again

35 mins - The game’s biggest talking point arrives when Cork’s full-forward and free-taker Pa Horgan is given a straight red card for a wild pull on Paudie O’Brien. It seems accidentaland the decision seems harsh but Limerick head for the dressing rooms tied at 0-10 each but with numerical advantage for the second half

Second half

36 mins - Graeme Mulcahy wins a Limerick puckout, heads straight for goal, takes a handy point to put Limerick into a lead they’ll hold for the remainder of the game

38 mins - Seanie Tobin is fouled by Lorcan McLoughlin and Declan Hannon lands the free for his sixth point of the game

41 mins - Jamie Coughlan, introduced as a half-time sub, points a free from near the sideline to narrow the gap as Cork introduce Cathal Naughton for Conor Lehan

42 mins - James Ryan’s influence continues to grow and he takes a pass from Seanie Tobin up for his second point

43 mins - Coughlan is fouled by Tom Condon, and he points the free himself fro a position similar to the first. Limerick are still one up

44 mins - Tobin gets another point, this time after a pass from Paul Browne

45 mins - After putting in a very honest effort, David Breen is called ashore and replaced by his club-mate Shane Dowling

48 mins - Stephen Walsh fouls Harnedy but Coughlan misses the free and within a minute Shane Dowling sends a long ball into Hannon on the edge of the square who makes a fine catch before pointing to put Limerick three clear. It’s a crucial moment in the game

51 mins - Dowling certainly makes his presence felt as he points off his left to put Limerick four in front. Conor Allis joins the action in place of Graeme Mulcahy

53 mins - James Ryan adds his third point, a massive effort from out the sideline

54 mins - Seamus Harnedy replies for Cork and the ginat Michael Cussen comes in at full-forward in place of Luke O’Farrell. For Limerick, Cathal King comes in for the injured Paudie O’Brien

58 mins - Cathal Naughtan points on the run for Cork to reduce the gap to three once again and a minute later Pa Cronin adds one from long range. Game is still alive

59 mins - Seamus Hickey has been busy all afternoon and he replies immediately

61 mins - Anthony Nash puts a Cork puckout out over the sideline and Declan Hannon puts over a delightful sideline cut from in front of the stand

64 mins - Shane Dowling gets another point, this time after getting on the end of a clearance from Donal O’Grady

65 mins - Kevein Downes is just seconds on the field but Cork gift him possession and he makes them count with his first score. Limerick are now six up

68 mins - Downes puts his hand up for a starting spot the next day with a delightful point from a tight angle

69 mins - Shane Dowling gets his third point since coming on and Niall Moran also marks his introduction with a fine effort. Limerick are 0-24 to 0-15 up and the crowd are ready to invade the pitch

72 mins - Dowling misses a late free but it’s immaterial as the long-suffering Limerick supporters invade the Gaelic Grounds pitch and erupt in joy when Donal O’Grady lifts the Munster trophy