LIT beat Carlow to set up Limerick derby with UL in Fitzgibbon Cup

There was a busy day of action on the Limerick GAA club scene on Saturday
THE Davy Fitzgerald managed Limerick IT put the chaos of recent days to one side to book their place in the semi-final of the Fitzgibbon Cup with a 1-15 to 0-14 win over IT Carlow.

THE Davy Fitzgerald managed Limerick IT put the chaos of recent days to one side to book their place in the semi-final of the Fitzgibbon Cup with a 1-15 to 0-14 win over IT Carlow.

This four point win sets up a mouth-watering semi-final clash with Limerick rivals UL on Friday afternoon. As Limerick IT are hosting the ‘finals weekend’ the game will take place in Moylish. When the sides met last season, LIT were the surprise winners in the quarter-final and once again Fitzgerald’s side will be underdogs this time round. But there was no denying the merit of this win over DJ Carey’s IT Carlow.

This game only got the go-ahead two hours before throw-in when the DRA announced their decision not to grant Mary Immaculate College a postponement of today’s quarter-final games after South Circular Road Third Level college made a last grasp bid to have IT Carlow’s involvement ended on grounds they played an illegal player in the clash between the two teams in the group stages.

Despite the uncertainty LI flew from the traps and led 0-4 to no score after four minutes.

With six locals in their line-up, LIT were to lead 1-9 to 0-5 at half time after playing with the wind.

The goal came from corner forward David Reidy in the 21st minute to give them a 1-6 to 0-3 lead.

The final minutes of the half saw both sides reduced to 14-men. Firstly Alan Dempsey was shown red in the 28th minute for LIT and then just two minutes later Charles Dwyer was shown a straight red for a foul on Seanie O’Brien.

It was a first half that saw Carlow fail to score from play, while Joe Campion, Paul Flaherty and Alan Dempsey were all on the mark for LIT.

O’Brien and Barry O’Connell were among the early second half scorers as LIT went 1-13 to 0-8 clear after nine minutes.

David Dempsey was up-ended in the 45th minute for a LIT penalty but Reidy was instructed to take his point.

Carlow’s first score from play came in the 40th minute of the game and any chance of a fightback was ruined when Aaron Murphy saved a 55th minute penalty.

SCORERS: Limerick IT: David Reidy 1-8 (6frees 1 ‘65), Joe Campion and Paul Flaherty 0-2 each, Alan Dempsey, Barry O’Connell adn Seaie O’Brien 0-1 each. IT Carlow: Kevin Kelly 0-8 (8frees), Conor Doughan 0-3 (2frees, 1 ‘65), Chris Bolger, Jack Fagan and Garry Keegan 0-1 each.

LIMERICK IT: Aaron Murphy (Hospital-Herberstown); Mikey Kiely (Ballybrown), Niall O’Connor (Clare), Kieran Bennett (Waterford), Willie Ryan (Tipperary), Barry O’Connell (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Alan Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh); Stephen O’Halloran (Clare), Seanie O’Brien (Patrickswell); Martin Fitzgerald (Kildare), Paul Flaherty (Galway), Joe Campion (Laois); David Reidy (Clare), Paul Killeen (Galway), David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh). Subs: Paddy Fitzgerald (Clare) for Martin Fitzgerald (36mins), Mark Gennery (Tipperary) for David Dempsey (51mins), Shane McGrath for Joe Campion (53mins).

IT CARLOW: Conor Clancy (Offaly; Ciaran Doyle (Kilkenny), Michael Ryan (Carlow), James Gannon (Kilkenny); Will Young (Laois), Conor Doughan (Offaly), Dwane Palmer (Laois); Aidan Fogarty (Kilkenny), Ian Byrne (Wexford); Martin Kavanagh (Carlow), Michael Harney (Waterford), Charles Dwyer (Laois; Jack Fagan (Meath), Kevin Kelly (Kilkenny), Chris Bolger (Kilkenny). Subs: Bill Staunton (Kilkenny) for Dwane Palmer (h-t), James Doyle (Carlow) for Michael Harney (41mins), Kevin Hallifan (Kerry) for Ciaran Doyle (41mins), Colin Dunford (Wexford) for Martin Kavanagh (47mins), Garry Keegan ((Kildare) for Kevin Kelly (53mins).

REFEREE: Alan Kelly (Galway).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.