Limerick U-21 football panel to play Cork

Limerick's Darragh Treacy in action against Ian Maguire of Cork during last year's Munster U-21 football championship clash
THE Limerick U-21 footballers will the first inter-county side into championship action next Wednesday night, March 19.

THE Limerick U-21 footballers will the first inter-county side into championship action next Wednesday night, March 19.

Diarmuid Sheedy’s Limerick side will have to travel to Cork to play the defending champions in the provincial semi-final. This Wednesday night, Cork beat Kerry in the quarter-final.

Just Darragh Treacy has senior championship experience, while Gearoid Hegarty, Mike Fitzgibbon and Danny Neville made their league debuts in recent weeks with John Brudair’s county seniors.

Limerick lost 2-14 to 0-11 to Cork last season and remaining from that panel are Treacy, Neville, Stephen Cahill, Paul White, Denis O’Dea, Kevin O’Donoghue and James O’Mara.

This season’s Limerick U-21 side is drawn from players who have failed to win a game in the Munster minor championship over the last three years - losing to all five Munster county’s along the way.

U-21 manager Diarmuid Sheehy has cast his net wide since last December and used challenge games against Galway, Wexford, Laois, Clare, Cork IT and Mary Immaculate to prepare for next Wednesday and the straight knock-out championship.

Sheehy selectors are Moss McCarthy, Brian O’Connell and Kieran Dore.

LIMERICK PANEL: James O’Mara (Fr Caseys Abbeyfeale); Brian Bourke (Na Piarsiagh), Sam Mullins (Claughaun), Ryan Meagher (St Patricks), Alan Finnegan (Na Piarsiagh), Shane Cusack (Ahane), Stephen Cahill (Mountcollins), Kevin Brosnan (Monagea), Joey Healy (Newcastle West), Paul White (St Marys Sean Finns Rathkeale), Kevin O’Donoghue (Hospital-Herbertstown), Darren Jones (St Mary Sean Finns Rathkeale), Brian Finn (Bruff), Gearoid Hegarty (St Patricks), Sean O’Dea (Kilteely-Dromkeen), Ryan Glynn (Bruff), Conor Sheehan (Cappamore), Darragh Treacy (St Kierans), Cian Sheehan (Newcastle West), Denis O’Dea (Kilteely-Dromkeen), Eoin O’Donnell (St Mary Sean Finns Rathkeale), Kieran Larkin (Croom), Mike Fitzgibbon (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), Peter Hodnett (Na Piarsiagh), Sean McSweeney (St Kierans), Danny Neville (Askeaton-Ballysteen), Jerry Flavin (Fedamore), Jack Flavin (Fedamore), Jason Mullins (St Patricks), Tony McCarthy (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Evan Quinlan (Monaleen), Kevin Moore (Glin), Patrick Stack (Dromcollogher-Broadford).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.