Extra-time heart break for Limerick minors

Limerick minor hurling manager Brian Ryan
There was disappointment for the Limerick minors in Croke Park as Galway won by 0-23 to 0-20 after extra time.

There was disappointment for the Limerick minors in Croke Park as Galway won by 0-23 to 0-20 after extra time.

Limerick had brought the semi-final to extra-time in the most dramatic fashion. As Galway clung to a precious one-point lead, 0-16 to 0-15, in added time, the Shannonsiders were awarded a last gasp free after the hurley was whipped out of Cian Lynch’s hand.

The ice-cool Ronan Lynch showed admirable composure to slot the equalising point from 45 metres out to ensure 20 extra minutes of play.

The sides had been level on no fewer than 13 occasions in normal time.

Limerick settled first and early points from the highly impressive Cian Lynch and corner forward Dean Coleman slotted early points.

However, the main talking point early on was whether a shot for a point from Limerick forward Barry Nash inside 18 seconds, which was deemed to have gone wide by Hawk Eye, had in fact gone between the uprights.

The sides were 0-8 each at the break and there was never more than a point between them in the second half. Adrian Morrissey looked to have won it for Galway when he pointed late on but Lynch nailedd the equalising free to bring the game to extra time.

Limerick were a point down at half time of extra time - 0-19 to 0-18 -and Galway stretched clear in the second half to book an All Ireland final place against Waterford.

LIMERICK – Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen); Sean Finn (Bruff), Richard English (Doon), Michael Casey (Na Piarsaigh); Andrew La Touche Cosgrave (Monaleen), Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh), Sean Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon); Darragh O’Donovan (Doon), Darragh Kennedy (Murroe-Boher); Cian Lynch (Patrickswell), Barry Nash (South Liberties), David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh); Dean Coleman (Doon), Tom Morrissey (Ahane), Pat Ryan (Doon). SUBS: Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon for Morrissey (half-time), Jamie Porter (Monaleen) for Casey (45 mins), Edward Doyle (Monaleen) for Kennedy (52 mins), Tom Morrissey for Ryan (55 mins), Jamie Butler (Feohanagh-Castlemahon) for Morrissey (68 mins), Edward Doyle (Monaleen) for Coleman (half-time extra-time), Sephen Ryan (Doon) for La Touche Cosgrave (80 mins)

GALWAY – Cathal Tuohy; Maidhc O’Conghaile, Darragh O’Donoghue, Michael Conneelly; Sean Linnane, Shane Cooney, Richard Doyle; Eanna Burke, Darragh Dolan (Capt); Conor Shaughnessy, Brian Burke, Ronan O’Meara; Brian Molloy, Conor Whelan, Adrian Morrissey. SUBS: Jack Hastings for O’Meara (36 mins), Vincent Doyle for Richard Doyle (51 mins), Eamon Brannigan for Dolan (55 mins), Ronan Bellew for Conneely (73 mins), Darragh Dolan for Morrissey (78 mins).

REFEREE – Fergal Horgan (Tipperary)