The Limerick hurlers in contention for an All Star award this week

Limerick full back Richie McCarthy
SEVEN Limerick hurlers are on the shortlist for an All Star award, which will be announced later this week.

SEVEN Limerick hurlers are on the shortlist for an All Star award, which will be announced later this week.

Full-back Richie McCarthy and midfielder Paul Browne appear the best placed Limerick men to be honoured.

Clare dominate the short-list with All-Ireland champions securing 13 nominations, followed by the nine recorded by Cork.

The final selection will be made this Wednesday night before the final 15 are presented with their awards two days later at the All-Star banquet in Croke Park. The awards ceremony will be shown on RTE at 7pm.

The seven Limerick nominations are McCarthy, Browne, Tom Condon, Gavin O’Mahony, Wayne McNamara, James Ryan and Graeme Mulcahy.

Limerick have a representative in each line of the field, except goalkeeper.

Richie McCarthy and Tom Condon

McCarthy is one of nine nominated for the three places in the full back line. Arguably, Limerick’s best player in 2013, McCarthy faces stiff opposition.

Clare’s David McInerney has already been selected on the U-21 All Star team and looks certain to be honoured again.

Dublin’s Peter Kelly and Cork’s Shane O’Neill will then battle with McCarthy for the two remaining spots.

Also nominated for one of the positions in the full back line is Knockaderry’s Tom Condon, who could lose out as the remit of the selectors now allows for full backs to be selected as corner backs.

Clare’s Domhnall O’Donovan, Conor O’Sullivan (Cork) and Tomás Waters (Wexford) complete the nine nominations.

Wayne McNamara and Gavin O’Mahony

The Limerick half back duo are among the nine vying for a place across the half back line. Adare’s McNamara assumed the Limerick centre back role for the first time in the 2013 championship while Kilmallock’s O’Mahony was every present at wing back.

Clare duo Brendan Bugler and Patrick Donnellan would be the fancy of many for All Stars.

Liam Rushe of Dublin looks a very good bet to take the number six jersey.

Michael Carton (Dublin), Brian Murphy (Cork), Kieran Joyce (Kilkenny) and Michael Walsh (Waterford) are also short-listed.

Paul Browne

In midfield, Bruff’s Paul Browne faces competition from seven other candidates for the two positions. Browne was selected on RTE’s Sunday Game Team of the Year.

Clare pair Conor Ryan and Colm Galvin, Joey Boland (Dublin), Daniel Kearney (Cork) and Kevin Moran (Waterford) complete the list of nominations.

Browne was a constant force for Limerick in their three championship games this season and one of those not to falter in Croke Park.

James Ryan

In the battle for a position in the half-forward line is Garryspillane’s James Ryan. Ryan sparkled for Limerick in the Munster final win over Cork

Tony Kelly (Clare) and Séamus Harnedy (Cork) appear certainties in this line of attack while

Clare pair John Conlon and Colin Ryan are also high up the pecking order.

Dublin duo Conal Keaney and Danny Sutcliffe, Patrick Cronin (Cork) and Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny) are also short-listed in a most competitive area.

Graeme Mulcahy

The Kilmallock man faces stiff opposition to be honoured in the inside line of attack.

Clare’s Padraic Collins and Cork’s Patrick Horgan are certainties after lighting up the championship.

Clare’s All-Ireland final goal scoring heroes, Conor McGrath and Shane O’Donnell are also short-listed.

Dublin pair Paul Ryan and David O’Callaghan, Conor Lehane (Cork) and Richie Hogan (Kilkenny) complete the nine nominees.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.