Limerick and Cork name teams for Munster minor hurling championship

Limerick minor manager Leo O'Connor
THE Limerick minor hurling team has been named for Wednesday night’s Munster MHC quarter final with Cork.

THE Limerick minor hurling team has been named for Wednesday night’s Munster MHC quarter final with Cork.

The team includes six players that started in the All Ireland MHC final defeat to Kilkenny last September in Croke Park.

Limerick’s bid for a third successive provincial crown starts in Pairc Ui Rinn this April 8 with a clash against Cork - throw-in time 7.00.

The Limerick team was selected without an injured trio Brian Ryan (South Liberties), Mikey Mackey (Adare) and Conor Houlihan (Na Piarsaigh).

Limerick are managed by Leo O’Connor. He is joined by high profile coach Anthony Daly and selectors John Mulqueen, Pat Donnelly and Brian Foley.

If Limerick are defeated they would play Waterford or Tipperary in the backdoor series on May 6. Victory in Cork would book a July 1 semi final spot.

Limerick are captain by goalkeeper Eoghan McNamara, who along with Seamus Flanagan, is on his third season on the inter-county minor panel.

The team’s vice-captains are Conor Byrnes and Peter Casey.

That quartet along with Thomas Grimes and Paddy O’Loughlin all played in the All Ireland final last September.

Indeed just five members of the team selected to play Cork were not part of the 2014 panel - Jack O’Grady, Micheal Bourke, Colum Carroll, Kyle Hayes and Ciaran O’Connor.

The team is selected from 11 different clubs with Doon (3), Kilmallock (2) and Na Piarsaigh (2) the only clubs with multiple players. Represented are six senior clubs, two Premier IHC clubs and three clubs from the IHC.

Meanwhile, Cork have also named their team for this Wednesday’s clash.

LIMERICK: Eoghan McNamama (Doon); Jack O’Grady (Knockainey), Michéal Bourke (Garryspillane), Conor McSweeney (South Liberties); Conor Byrnes (Murroe-Boher), Paddy O’Loughlin (Kilmallock), Thomas Grimes (Na Piarsaigh); Colum Carroll (Ahane), Thomas Hayes (Doon); Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Ciaran O’Connor (Kilmallock), Darragh Carroll (Kilteely-Dromkeen), Barry Murphy (Doon), Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh). Subs: Mark O’Kelly (Croom), Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh), David Hannon (Pallasgreen), Wilie O’Meara (Askeaton), Cian Flynn Magner (Killeedy), Paudie Ahern (Killeedy), Brian McPartland (Doon), Eoin Ryan (Adare), Kyle Dillon (Bruff), Finn Hourigan (Murroe-Boher), Willie Hurley (Newcastle West).

CORK: Declan Dalton (Fr O’Neills); Seadnaidh Smyth (Midleton), David Griffin (Carrigaline), Niall O’Leary (Castlelyons); Mark Coleman (Blarney), Eoghan Murphy (Sarsfields), David Lowney (Clonakilty); Chris O’Leary (Valley Rovers), Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville); Tim O’Mahony (Shandrum), Robbie O’Flynn (Erins Own), Shane Kingston (Douglas); Billy Dunne (Fr O’Neills), Ciaran Cormack (Blackrock), Michael O’Halloran (Blackrock). Subs: Barry Kenneally (Cuchulainns), John Cashman (Blackrock), Kevin Murphy (Killeagh/Itas), Conor Cahalane (St Finbarrs), Robert Bourke (Ballincollig), Billy Hennessy (St Finbarrs), Danny Gunning (Na Piarsaigh), John Looney (Aghada), Liam Healy (Sarsfields).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.