Three clubs lead the way after round two of Limerick SHC

There was a busy day of Limerick GAA club action this Saturday
THREE clubs have 100% records after round two of the Q3 Security Systems sponsored Limerick SHC.

THREE clubs have 100% records after round two of the Q3 Security Systems sponsored Limerick SHC.

Kilmallock, Na Piarsaigh and Patrickswell all have two victories, while Adare remain unbeaten after a second draw.

Effin and Murroe-Boher are the only sides without points on the board.

In Group One champions Kilmallock and Patrickswell lead the way.

Ger O’Loughlin’s Kilmallock were 3-15 to 1-12 winners over South Liberties in Bruff. Kilmallock had a hat-trick of goals from teenager Paddy O’Loughlin.

His first goal had Kilmallock 1-7 to 0-8 ahead at half time. Frees from Ryan brothers Tom and Brian had Liberties 0-7 to 0-3 clear after 20-minutes.

The second half was dominated by Kilmallock. O’Loughlin’s second goal found a response in a Brian Ryan goal but when the hat-trick was completed Kilmallock were 3-13 to 1-9 clear with 12-minutes to play. Kilmallock had 0-9 from free-taker Eoin Ryan.

Ciaran Carey’s Patrickswell maintained their good start with a 6-15 to 0-16 win over Murroe-Boher in Claughaun.

The Well were 5-6 to 0-12 up at half time.

There were two goals each for O’Brien brothers Thomas and Kevin and Lar Considine.

Although serving an inter-county suspension, Seanie Tobin was Murroe Boher’s stand out player with an impressive 11-point haul from free and from play.

The third game in this group saw Ahane beat Effin in Bruff, 1-14 to 2-10. The winners hit 21-wides, compared to six for Effin. They sides were level 0-6 each at half time. A John Fox goals in the ninth minute of the second half had Ahane 1-9 to 0-6 clear.

With five minutes to play they were 1-13 to 0-8 ahead but then came the late Effin goals. Darren Sheehy hit the first in the 57th minute and then Tommy Quaid had their second in injury time. But they just fell short of forcing a draw.

In Group Two, Na Piarsaigh lead the way with two wins. They were 2-18 to 0-18 winners over Ballybrown in Claughaun.

A seven-minute blitz at the start of the second half with a 1-3 return laid the foundations for a hard fought win.

Seven first half frees from Ballybrown’s Shane Kenny helped his side to a one-point advantage at the break. However, a sluggish Na Piarsaigh exploded into action in the second half with Shane Dowling (1-4) and Adrian Breen (1-3) setting them on their way to another win.

Doon had their first win of the championship when beating Bruff, 2-18 to 0-8 in Caherconlish. The winners were 1-13 to 0-5 up after playing with the first half wind.

Also in this group there was another draw for Adare. In round one they battled back to draw with Ballybrown but this time round it was an injury time Damien Sexton goal that snatched a draw for Croom, 1-13 to 2-10.

A superb Conor Laffan goal had Croom 1-5 to 0-7 up at half time in Bruff. They actually led 1-5 to 0-2 after 16-minutes but Willie Griffin and John Fitzgibbon frees brought Adare back into the contest.

A 46th minute Declan Hannon goal had Adare 1-10 to 1-7 ahead.

Two points from Andrew O’Connell looked to have secured victory for Ger Hegarty’s side until Sexton drilled low to the net in injury time.


Kilmallock 3-15 South Liberties 1-12

Na Piarsaigh 2-18 Ballybrown 0-10

Patrickswell 6-15 Murroe-Boher 0-16

Adare 1-13 Croom 2-10

Ahane 1-14 Effin 2-10

Doon 2-18 Bruff 0-8


Granagh-Ballingarry 0-13 Pallasgreen 0-10

Dromin-Athlacca 2-11 Bruree 3-8

Monaleen 4-17 Blackrock 3-10

Knockainey 1-16 Garryspillane 1-11


Cappamore 1-13 Caherline 0-14

Feohanagh 0-14 Newcastle West 1-7

Mungret 1-17 Feenagh-Kilmeedy 3-7

Knockaderry 0-10 St Kierans 0-8

Glenroe 0-19 Hospital-Herbertstown 1-9

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.