20-point winning margin in Limerick U-21 football final replay

Jerome O’Connell


Jerome O’Connell

The Limerick minor footballers were beaten by Cork in the Munster championship on Wednesday nigh
NEWCASTLE WEST-MONAGEA were crowned Limerick Pemier U-21 football champions for 2014 this Saturday afternoon, January 10.

NEWCASTLE WEST-MONAGEA were crowned Limerick Pemier U-21 football champions for 2014 this Saturday afternoon, January 10.

The final score on a bitterly cold afternoon was 5-12 to 0-7.

Remarkably, six days previous these sides were dead-locked 1-8 each in Dromcollogher..

But in this Saturday’s replay in Tournafulla there was no denying that the Newcastle West-Monagea combination were deserving and most impressive 20-point winners.

Pretty much from start to finish they dominated.

They played against the strong wind in the opening 30-minutes and hit on the counter attack for three goals, which ultimately built the foundation for victory.

But still by half time Athea-Mountcollins had played themselves into the contest and only trailed 3-3 to 0-7.

Alas, the underdogs weren’t to score in the entire second half as Newcastle West-Monagea dominated the middle third to ensure a constant supply of possession to their lively forwards.

AJ O’Connor was the star of the opening half with two goals. The winner’s third in the first half came from Shane Brosnan, who completed his double in the second half.

Aside from the goals Limerick senior player Cian Sheehan caused much of the trouble and aside from winning and distributing possession he kicked four points from play.

Their third goal came in the 50th minute when Shane Stack found the net.

For Athea-Mountcollins to have any chance they needed goals, especially when the winner’s first came in the second minute.But both Ryan Carroll and Kevin Murphy were denied in the first half.

SCORERS: Newcastle West-Monagea: AJ O’Connor 2-2 (1-0pen), Shane Brosnan 2-0, Cian Sheehan and Eoin Hurley (4frees) 0-4 each, Shane Stack 1-1, Brian O’Sullivan 0-1. Athea-Mountcollins: Patrick Delee 0-3 (2frees), Shane Mulvihill 0-2 (1free), Maurice Hayes and Kevin Murphy 0-1 each.

NEWCASTLE WEST-MONAGEA: Andy Brouder; Sean Murphy, Kevin Brosnan, Eoin Murphy; Eoghan Normoyle, Steven Brosnan, Brian O’Sullivan; Gavin Reidy, Joey Healy; Shane Stack, Shane Brosnan, AJ O’Connor; Kieran Brouder, Cian Sheehan, Eoin Hurley. Subs: Brian Hurley for Eoghan Normoyle (h-t), Martin Madden for Kieran Brouder (49mins), Sean Richards for Shane Brosnan (51mins), Darragh Quilligan for AJ O’Connor (53mins), Ryan Clancy for Joey Healy (54mins).

ATHEA-MOUNTCOLLINS: Jonathan Fitzgerald; Timmy Flanagan, Jamie Lenihan, Diarmuid Flanagan; William Mullane, Denis Greaney, Dylan Griffin; Stephen Cahill, Matthew Brouder; Maurice Hayes, Shane Mulvihill, Ryan Carroll; Kevin Murphy, Patrick Delee, Cian O’Sullivan. Subs: Conor Moroney for Dylan Griffin, Mikie O’Mahony for Cian O’SUllivan (h-t), Cian O’Sullivan for Conor Moroney (32mins), Jason O’Flaherty for William Mullane (50mins).