Search our Archive


Defeat for Limerick footballers in final league game against Cavan

Limerick SFC
THE Limerick senior footballers ended their 2014 National League campaign with a 0-18 to 0-14 defeat to Cavan this Saturday in the Gaelic Grounds.

THE Limerick senior footballers ended their 2014 National League campaign with a 0-18 to 0-14 defeat to Cavan this Saturday in the Gaelic Grounds.

Ahead of the final round game Limerick had consolidated their place in Division Three, while the Cavan win ensured they maintained their 100% record.

It was three late points from the northerners that sealed the win for the Breffini men.

Cavan were 0-8 to 0-7 up at half time.

But it was an opening 35-minutes that saw Limerick kick 10-wides, compared to five for Cavan.

For the first 25-minutes it was point for point with John Galvin, Ger Collins and Eoin Hanrahan kicking Limerick points from play as the scoreboard read 0-5 a-piece.

Then Cavan kicked three successive scores for a 0-8 to 0-5 lead with half time approaching.

But Paudie Browne and Collins found scores in the final minute to ensure just a point divided the teams at the break.

On the resumption Ian Ryan and Seanie Buckley had Limerick ahead but back came Cavan.

Three successive points from Cavan native Killian Phair had Limerick 0-13 to 0-12 in arrears with 15-minutes to play.

But they were unable to draw level.

A second of the day from Galvin had it 0-15 to 0-14 with eight minutes to play but Limerick failed to score in the closing minutes.

Attention now turns to the Munster championship clash with Tipperary on May 31 in the Gaelic Grounds.

SCORERS: Limerick: Killian Phair 0-3 (1free), John Galvin, Ger Collins, Eoin Hanrahan (1free), Brian Scanlon (2 ‘45) 0-2 each, Paudie Browne, Ian Ryan, Seanie Buckley 0-1 each. Cavan: Michael Lyng 0-4, Eugene Keating 0-3 (1free), Philip Tinnelly, Niall Murray, Damien O’Reilly, Jack Brady (1free) 0-2 each, David Givney, Robert Moloney Derham, Gearoid McKieran 0-1 each.

LIMERICK: Brian Scanlon; Sean O’Dea, Johnny McCarthy, Colm Moran; John Riordan, Paudie Browne, Pa Ranahan; Darragh Treacy, John Galvin; Gearoid Hegarty, Cian Sheehan, Seanie Buckley; Eoin Hanrahan, Ger Collins, Ian Ryan. Subs: Killian Phair for Eoin Hanrahan (44mins), Garrett Noonan for Darragh Treacy (48mins), Peter Nash for Gearoid Hegarty (48mins), Keith Hartnett for Ian Ryan (55mins), James O’Meara for John Riordan (58mins), Jamie Lee for Cian Sheehan (60mins).

CAVAN: Alan O’Mara; Joshua Hayes, Rory Dunne, Jason McLoughlin; Philip Tinnelly, Alan Clarke, Damien O’Reilly; Tomas Corr, David Givney; Christopher Conroy, Niall McDermott, Niall Murray; Michael Lyng, Eugene Keating, David Hyland. Subs: Robert Moloney Derham for Tomas Corr (h-t), Jack Brady for Niall McDermott (h-t), Gearoid McKiernan for David Hyland (50mins), Damien Barkery for Jason McLoughlin (50mins), Turloc Mooney for Christopher Conroy (60mins), Martin Dunne for Eugene Keating (68mins).

REFEREE: Liam Devanney (Mayo).

See the print edition of the Limerick Leader for a full match report and reaction.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.