Limerick minor football team named for Cork clash

Limerick  take on Cork in the Munster minor football championship in the Gaelic Grounds on Wednesday night
The Limerick minor football team to play Cork in the opening round of the Munster championship has been named.

The Limerick minor football team to play Cork in the opening round of the Munster championship has been named.

Limerick take on Cork on Wednesday, April 15, at 7pm in the Gaelic Grounds and manager Jerry O’Sullivan has included four players who lined out in last year’s championship defeat to the same opposition.

Captain Mikey Morrissey from the Rathkeale club, Newcastle West duo Sean Murphy and Sean Ivess and Mungret’s Luke O’Connell all return from last year’s side.

Morrissey rose to prominence when he played on the Rathkeale U-21 team that reached the 2013 county final. But as he was still U-16 at the time he wasn’t permitted to play and had to be left off the side for the final. He is named at centre-forward for Wednesday’s game.

Murphy and Ivess, meanwhile, come into Wednesday’s game on the back of having played a major role in Newcastle West-Esturary’s Munster U-18 final win on Sunday in Thomond Park. Ivess was one of the stars of the game, contributing 12 points from full-back.

Cork have also named their team and call on two of the county’s minor hurling team that defeated Limerick in Pairc ui Rinn last Wednesday. Shane Kingston, who scored 1-9 in that game, is named at full-forward while David Lowney is at wing-forward.

Both of those played on last year’s Cork minor football team that were beaten by Kerry in the Munster minor final and by Dublin in the All Ireland quarter-final.

Wing-back Sean Powter, midfielder Daniel Ó Duinnín, wing-forward David Lowney and centre-forward Gary Murphy also featured on last year’s team.

Should Limerick cause a shock and beat Cork then they will play the winners of Clare and Kerry in the semi-final on May 13.

If they lose, however, they will be back in action a week later, on Wednesday, April 22, against the losers of Tipperary and Waterford.

A win in that game would give them quarter-final clash against the losers of Kerry and Clare on April 29 and then a semi-final meeting with the winner of Tipperary and Waterford.

Limerick minor manager Jerry O’Sullivan named his full squad last week.

LIMERICK: Aaron Murphy (Fr Casey’s); David Hanley (Ballysteen), Luke O’Connell (Mungret), Fionn Murphy (Killteely-Dromkeen); John Wallace (Glin), Sean Ivess (Newcastle West), Sean Murphy (Newcastle West); Adam Kerins (St Senan’s), Michael Whelan (Hospital-Herbertstown); Andrew White (Rathkeale), Mikey Morrissey (Rathkeale), Ed Sheehy (Granagh-Ballingarry); Diarmuid Kelly (Newcastle West), Mark Connolly (Adare), James Ryan (Athea)

CORK: Chris Kelly (Éire Óg); Nathan Walsh (Douglas), Tiernan O’Connell (Clonakilty), Conor Dennehy (St Finbarr’s); Sean Powter (Douglas), Ronan Walsh (Castlehaven), Kevin O’Dwyer (Macroom); Daniel Ó Duinnin (Cill na Martra), Eoin O’Brien (Douglas); David Lowney (Clonakilty), Gary Murphy (Castletownbere), Conor Hughes (Canovee); Sean McEvoy (Clonakilty), Shane Kingston (Douglas), Stephen Sherlock (St Finbarr’s)

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.