Five Talking Points from Limerick GAA’s weekend

Jerome O’Connell


Jerome O’Connell

Kilmallock players celebrate with the cup after victory over Cratloe
There was success and failure for Limerick champions in the Munster club championships over the weekend.

There was success and failure for Limerick champions in the Munster club championships over the weekend.

Jerome O’Connell reviews the action.

1. Balbec Abu

Kilmallock are champions of Munster for a third time. On Sunday they ended a 20-year wait with a most surreal display to earn an extra-time victory over 4/5 favourites Cratloe in the Gaelic Grounds. Over the course of the 80-minutes the south Limerick men hit a remarkable 1-27 from play in a fine display of long distance point-taking. In total they have nine different scorers on a day when they played the final 13-minutes of normal time with 14-men after the sending off of Gavin O’Mahony.

2. St Patricks Day

In two of the last three seasons Na Piarsaigh have lost out at the semi-final stage to the eventual champions. Next up for Ger O’Loughlin’s Kilmallock is a February 7 All Ireland semi-final against Down and Ulster champions Portaferry. In 1993 Kilmallock reached the All-Ireland final but lost to Galway’s Sarsfields.

3. Another football final

Glin will play Kerry’s Brosna in the Munster club JAHC final on December 7 in Mallow. On Sunday the west Limerick men were 1-8 to 0-8 winners over Waterford’s Kill with Padraig Costello getting the all-important goal. The final appearance for Glin continues a fine run for Limerick sides as they become the sixth club to contest the last seven finals - Feohanagh-Castlemahon, Cappamore, Bruree, Mountcollins, Bruff. Alas all have suffered defeat in a competition which has been won on nine times in it’s 11-year history by the Kerry champions.

4. Bruff justice

After the high of their Limerick Premier IHC success, Bruff suffered defeat in the Munster intermediate hurling final on Saturday in Mallow. They were narrowly beaten 1-11 to 0-13 by Waterford’s Cappoquin in a game where Gary Kirby’s side never reached their full potential. A title won by South Liberties (2009) and Effin (2011), Bruff were left to rue missed chances with a total of 12 wides.

5. Kildimo-Pallaskenry

With seven trophies already on the sideboard for 2014, Kildimo-Pallaskenry are up and running in the Munster club JBFC. On Sunday in the Knockaderry run tournament they were 2-13 to 1-10 winners over Cork’s Castlelyons. They now await the Tipperary champions in the semi-final. In the other semi-final Clare’s Cratloe play the Kerry champions.