Limerick lads named in Ireland U-20 squad for World Cup

Dan Goggin, Ireland, is tackled by Riccardo Michieletto, Italy, during the U-20 Six Nations earlier this year
A number of Limerick-based rugby players have been named in the Ireland U-20 squad for this year’s World Cup in New Zealand.

A number of Limerick-based rugby players have been named in the Ireland U-20 squad for this year’s World Cup in New Zealand.

Jack O’Donoghue of UL Bohs, who is one of four players who played in last year’s competition in France, is joined by Young Munster’s Dan Goggin and Diarmuid Dee and Garryowen centre Alex Wooten. Goggin, who played in this year’s U-20 Six Nations, is a past pupil of St Munchin’s while back-row forward Dee, a former Limerick minor hurler and Crescent Comp student, is one of eight uncapped players to be named in the squad. Wooten was another to feature during the spring.

There is no place, though, for Bruff scrum-half Jack Cullen who did feature in the Six Nations. Cullen is underage again next year, however.

In total there are nine Munster players in the 28-man squad. Cork Con supply four players - Rory Burke, Max Abbott, Ryan Foley and Darragh Moloney - while John Madigan of Dolphin completes the list.

Ireland share pool B with France, Fiji and Wales and open their tournament against France on Monday, June 2, in QBE Stadium, Auckland.

Ireland U-20 Squad (IRB Junior Rugby World Championship Squad 2014)

Max Abbott (Cork Constitution – Munster)

Rory Burke (Cork Constitution – Munster)

David Busby (Queens – Ulster)

Ross Byrne (UCD – Leinster)

Denis Coulson (Lansdowne/ Carlow IT – Leinster)

William Dardis (UCD – Leinster)*

Diarmaid Dee (Young Munster – Munster)*

Dylan Donnellan (UCD - Leinster)*

Peter Dooley (Lansdowne – Leinster)

Ryan Foley (Cork Constitution - Munster)*

Ciaran Gaffney (Galwegians – Connacht)*

Stephen Gardiner (Lansdowne – Leinster)

Dan Goggin (Young Munster – Munster)

Cian Kelleher (Lansdowne – Leinster)

John Madigan (Dolphin – Munster)*

Nick McCarthy (UCD – Leinster)

Mickey McKeon (Lansdowne – Leinster)

Darragh Moloney (Cork Constitution – Munster)*

Rory Moloney (Buccaneers - Connacht)

Ross Molony (UCD – Leinster)

Sean O’Brien (Galwegians – Connacht) (Capt)

Jack O’Donoghue (UL Bohemian - Munster)

Garry Ringrose (UCD – Leinster)

Peter Robb (Old Belvedere – Leinster)

Frank Taggart (Belfast Harlequins - Ulster)

Peadar Timmins (UCD - Leinster)

Craig Trenier (Terenure – Leinster)*

Alex Wootton (Garryowen – Munster)

*Denotes uncapped player at International U-20 level

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.