LIT shock UL in Limerick Fitzgibbon Cup derby

Jerome O’Connell


Jerome O’Connell

LIT beat UL to advance to the Fitzgibbon Cup semi-final
FAVOURITES UL were dumped out of the Fitzgibbon Cup this Wednesday by LIT on a 2-16 to 1-13 scoreline.

FAVOURITES UL were dumped out of the Fitzgibbon Cup this Wednesday by LIT on a 2-16 to 1-13 scoreline.

The Limerick derby drew a large crowd to UL for this quarter-final and it was a tactical masterclass from Davy Fitzgerald and a superb individual performance from Hurler of the Year Tony Kelly that propelled LIT into the semi-final against Waterford IT.

Kelly ended with 1-10 from play and from frees and it was his 50th minute goal that was key.

Playing with the wind LIT were 0-10 to 0-6 ahead at half time.

Tactically LIT played an extra man in defence and Barry O’Connell played this role brilliantly.

LIT had five locals in their starting team - Aaron Murphy (Hospital-Herbertstown), Alan Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh), Barry O’Connell (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Seanie O’Brien (Patrickswell), Pat Begley (Mungret).

UL had Tom Ryan (South Liberties) and Dan Morrissey (Ahane) with Patrickswell duo Thomas O’Brien and Mark Carmody introduced as subs.

Elsewhere, Podge Collins was man-marked by his Cratloe club-mate Enda Boyce as Davy Fitzgerald’s side made little of their underdogs tag.

LIT had Seanie O’Brien sent off for a red card in the 56th minute but they were already on course for the win.

SCORERS: LIT: Tony Kelly 1-10 (5frees, 1 ‘65), Philip Ivors 1-3, Mark Gennery 0-2, Paul Flaherty 0-1. UL: Jason Forde 1-6 (5frees 1lineball), Tommy Heffernan, Padraic Walsh 0-2 each, Podge Collins, Cathal Malone, Thomas O’Brien (free) 0-1 each.

LIT: Aaron Murphy (Limerick); Sean O’Gorman (Clare), Martin Minihan (Tipperary), Cian Nolan (Clare); Paul Flaherty (Galway), Barry O’Connell (Limerick), Enda Boyce (Clare); Seanie O’Brien (Limerick), Tony Kelly (Clare); Alan Dempsey (Limerick), Mark Gennery (Tipperary), Philip Ivors (Tipperary); Pat Begley (Limerick), Jamie Shanahan (Clare), Cathal McInerney (Clare). Subs: Shane McGrath (Clare) for Mark Gennery (44mins), Oisin Hickey (Clare) for Philip Ivors (60mins).

UL: Shane Hassett (Tipperary); Paul Flanagan (Clare), Jack Sheehan (Cork), Jack Browne (Clare); Thomas Ryan (Limerick), Daniel Morrissey (Limerick), Conor Ryan (Clare); Padraic Walsh (Kilkenny), Bill Maher (Tipperary); Cathal Malone (Clare), Podge Collins (Clare), Brian Stapleton (Tipperary); Jason Forde (Tipperary), Johnny Glynn (Galway), Tommy Heffernan (Tipperary). Subs: Seadna Morey (Clare) for Bill Maher (27mins), Thomas O’Brien (Limerick) for Brian Stapleton (43mins), Mar Carmody (Limerick) for Jack Sheehan (50mins).

REFEREE: Diarmuid Kirwan (Cork).