Martin O’Neill announces Ireland squad in Limerick

Republic of Ireland manager Martin O'Neill
Martin O’Neill was in Limerick today and announced his Ireland squad for the March 5 friendly against Serbia.

Martin O’Neill was in Limerick today and announced his Ireland squad for the March 5 friendly against Serbia.

O’Neill, who was in Limerick for a day-long schedule of events, announced the squad at a press conference in Limerick City and County Hall.

Ireland play Serbia in the Aviva Stadium on Tuesday, March 5, and O’Neill named a 29-man squad, which will be reduced after this weekend’s games to facilitate injuries.

Robbie Keane won’t be involved as he will stay in the USA to prepare for the start of LA Galaxy’s new season.

“Our game with Serbia will provide us with great preparation ahead of the first game of our European qualifiers in September. I enjoyed working with the players in November for my first taste of international football, and am looking forward to assembling the squad once again in March.

“Gestures such as this, like Martin coming to Limerick, go a long way in promoting the game locally,” said Cathaoirleach John Sheehan.

“Limerick is a very proud sporting city and county,” added Mayor Kathleen Leddin, “and I want to thank Martin and his team for visiting Limerick and learning of the working going on in the region.”

O’Neill will attend Sunday’s draw for the 2016 European Championship qualifiers where Ireland are among the second seeds.

Ireland Squad: David Forde (Millwall), Darren Randolph (Birmingham), Rob Elliot (Newcastle), Richard Keogh (Derby County), Marc Wilson (Stoke City), Seamus Coleman (Everton), John O’Shea (Sunderland), Alex Pearce (Reading), Stephen Kelly (Reading), Damien Delaney (Ipswich), Richard Dunne (QPR), James McCarthy (Everton), Ciaran Clark (Aston Villa), Stephen Ward (Brighton Hove Albion), Glenn Whelan (Stoke City), Paul Green (Leeds Utd), Andy Reid (Nottingham Forest), Aidan McGeady (Everton), Anthony Pilkington (Norwich), James McClean (Wigan), Stephen Quinn (Hull City), David Meyler (Hull City), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich), Shane Long (Hull City), Daryl Murphy (Ipswich Town), Jon Walters (Stoke City), Kevin Doyle (QPR), Anthony Stokes (Celtic), Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest)

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.