Limerick seven get All Star nominations

Limerick's Paul Browne
LIMERICK have received seven nominations for the 2013 GAA GPA Hurling All-Stars.

LIMERICK have received seven nominations for the 2013 GAA GPA Hurling All-Stars.

Clare’s All-Ireland winning run has been rewarded with 13 nominations and is followed by the nine recorded by Cork.

The final selection will be made on Wednesday November 6 before the final 15 are presented with their awards two days later at the All-Star banquet at Croke Park.

Limerick have a representative in each line of the field, except goalkeeper.

Limerick’s best chance of an All Star is seen by many as full back Richie McCarthy, although Paul Browne was selected on The Sunday Game Team of the Year at midfield.

The Limerick seven are McCarthy, Browne, Tom Condon, Gavin O’Mahony, Wayne McNamara, James Ryan and Graeme Mulcahy.

There have been some eyebrows raised by the omission of Nickie Quaid, Paudie O’Brien, Donal O’Grady and Declan Hannon.

Fellow provincial champions, Dublin got nine nominations - two more than Limerick.

All told only 13 of last year’s nominees are included on this year’s list of 45.

The short list for the Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year Awards were also confirmed by the selection panel.

The senior category includes Tony Kelly (Clare), Anthony Nash (Cork) and Pádraic Collins (Clare) and the young player category also includes Kelly and Collins and they are joined by their county colleague David McInerney.


Anthony Nash (Cork)

Patrick Kelly (Clare)

Gary Maguire (Dublin)


David McInerney (Clare)

Domhnall O’Donovan (Clare)

Richie McCarthy (Limerick)

Tom Condon (Limerick)

Peter Kelly (Dublin)

Shane O’Neill (Cork)

Conor O’Sullivan (Cork)

Paul Murphy (Kilkenny)

Tomás Waters (Wexford)


Brendan Bugler (Clare)

Patrick Donnellan (Clare)

Liam Rushe (Dublin)

Michael Carton (Dublin)

Brian Murphy (Cork)

Wayne McNamara (Limerick)

Gavin O’Mahony (Limerick)

Kieran Joyce (Kilkenny)

Michael Walsh (Waterford)


Conor Ryan (Clare)

Colm Galvin (Clare)

Joey Boland (Dublin)

Paul Browne (Limerick)

Daniel Kearney (Cork)

Kevin Moran (Waterford)

Half Forwards

Tony Kelly (Clare)

John Conlon (Clare)

Colin Ryan (Clare)

Séamus Harnedy (Cork)

Patrick Cronin (Cork)

Conal Keaney (Dublin)

Danny Sutcliffe (Dublin)

James Ryan (Limerick)

Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny)


Pádraic Collins (Clare)

Conor McGrath (Clare)

Shane O’Donnell (Clare)

Patrick Horgan (Cork)

Conor Lehane (Cork)

Paul Ryan (Dublin)

David O’Callaghan (Dublin)

Graeme Mulcahy (Limerick)

Richie Hogan (Kilkenny)

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.