Limerick confirm U-21 hurling panel for Tipperary test

Limerick U-21 manager John Kiely
THE Limerick U-21 hurling management have finalised their panel for the Munster championship.

THE Limerick U-21 hurling management have finalised their panel for the Munster championship.

Limerick entertain Tipperary in the Munster semi final in the Gaelic Grounds on Thursday July 16.

Ahead of that tie, Limerick manager John Kiely has confirmed a 34 man panel.

Limerick will be bidding to reach a July 30 final against either Clare or Waterford, who meet in their semi final on July 15 in Ennis.

John Kiely and selectors Jimmy Quilty (Blackrock) and John Flavin (Monagea) have named eight of last year’s starting team in their panel - Mark O’Callaghan, Richie English, Diarmuid Byrnes, Cian Lynch, David Dempsey, Liam O’Sullivan, Kevin O’Brien and Pat Ryan.

Just Cian Lynch and Tom Morrissey were members of TJ Ryan’s Limerick senior panel in the Munster SHC.

The current U-21 panel is notable for the inclusion of Gearoid Hegarty - the Limerick senior footballer captained the county U21 football side earlier this year.

Also included is Evan Fitzgerald of Parteen.

The former Claughaun man was wing back on the minor team three year ago.

At the outset of this season he transferred to the south east Clare club.

Twelve months ago the Ciaran Carey managed Limerick U-21s lost to Clare in the Gaelic Grounds.

Kiely and Co take over a Limerick panel that beat Cork and lost to Clare three years ago at minor level.

Many of the U-21 panel come from Limerick’s back-to-back minor winning sides under Brian Ryan in 2013 and 2014.

PANEL: Jody Hannon (Adare), Lukas O’Brien (Adare), Tom Morrissey (Ahane), Paddy Morrissey (Ahane), James O’Riordan (Bruff), Brian Finn (Bruff), Sean Finn (Bruff), David Lynch (Croagh-Kilfinny), Darragh O’Donovan (Doon), Pat Ryan (Doon), Richie English (Doon), Jack Quaid (Effin), Jamie Butler (Feohanagh), Sean Flanagan (Feohanagh), David McCarthy (Glenroe), David Condron (Granagh-Ballingarry), Barry O’Connell (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Robbie Hanley (Kilmallock), Liam O’Sullivan (Knockaderry), Mark O’Callaghan (Knockaderry), Lorcan Lyons (Monaleen), Andrew La Touche Cosgrave (Monaleen), Darragh Kennedy (Murroe-Boher), Michael Casey (Na Piarsaigh), David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh), Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh), Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen), Jack Kelliher (Patrickswell), Diarmuid Byrnes (Patrickswell), Kevin O’Brien (Patrickswell), Cian Lynch (Patrickswell), Gearoid Hegarty (St Patricks), Evan Fitzgerald (Parteen), Cian Hedderman (Ballybrown).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.