Limerick minor hurlers finalise panel for title defence

Jerome O’Connell


Jerome O’Connell

Limerick minor manager Leo O'Connor
LIMERICK have unveiled a panel of 34-players for next month’s defence of the Munster minor hurling championship title.

LIMERICK have unveiled a panel of 34-players for next month’s defence of the Munster minor hurling championship title.

Manager Leo O’Connor will have 14 players available from the panel which contested the All Ireland MHC final last September in Croke Park.

Just two weeks after that All Ireland defeat to Kilkenny O’Connor replaced Brian Ryan as Limerick minor manager. The Claughaun man has selectors in John Mulqueen, Pat Donnelly and Brian Foley - Donnelly is also to U-17 manager. Coach Jerry Wallace was reappointed to maintain continuity.

However, in east December Wallace departed as coach and as Head Coach to the Limerick Underage Hurling Academy.

Former Clare and Dublin manager Anthony Daly replaced Wallace in both roles.

Since the turn of the year the Limerick minors have work intensively to finalise their preparations for the April 8 Munster quarter final against Cork in Pairc Ui Rinn. If Limerick are defeated they would play Waterford or Tipperary in the backdoor series on May 6. Victory in Cork would book a July 1 semi final spot.

On top a training and a series of challenge games, the panel received a motivational talk from golf star Padraig Harrington.

Last weekend Limerick played Kilkenny in Kilkenny.

This weekend two challenge games are planned to give match time to all in the panel.

The 34-man panel, which remains open ended, includes six who started the All Ireland final - Eoghan McNamara, Paddy O’Loughlin, Thomas Grimes, Conor Byrnes, Seamus Flanagan and Peter Casey. McNamara and Flanagan are in their third year as county minor panellits. Twenty clubs are represented in the panel.

PANEL: Paudie Ahern, Cian Magner Flynn (Killeedy), Micheal Bourke (Garryspillane), Conor Boylan, Peter Casey, Thomas Grimes, Conor Houlihan (Na Piarsaigh), Conor Byrnes, Finn Hourigan (Murroe-Boher), Column Carroll, Adam O’Brien (Ahane), Darragh Carroll (Kilteely-Dromkeen), Kyle Dillon (Bruff), Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), Darren Golden (Monaleen), David Hannon (Pallasgreen), Kyle Hayes (Kildimo), Thomas Hayes, Eoghan McNamara, Brian McPartland, Barry Murphy (Doon), Sean Hogan, Mikey Mackey, Eoin Ryan (Adare), Willie Hurley (Newcastle West), Conor McSweeney, Brian Ryan (South Liberties), Darren O’Connell (Pallaskenry), Ciaran O’Connor, Paddy O’Loughlin, Oisin O’Reilly (Kilmallock), Jack O’Grady (Knockainey), Mark O’Kelly (Croom), Willie O’Meara (Askeaton).