Search our Archive


No new Limerick hurling worries after club games

Limerick hurling manager TJ Ryan
THE stars of the Limerick senior and minor hurling teams have all reported injury free after last weekend’s club championship action.

THE stars of the Limerick senior and minor hurling teams have all reported injury free after last weekend’s club championship action.

Next Thursday Brian Ryan’s county minors will bid to make it another Munster final day double.

In their provincial semi-final they play Cork in the Gaelic Grounds on June 26 at 7.30.

Victory will ensure they once again provide the curtain-raiser to the senior clash of Limerick and Cork on July 13.

Clare and Waterford meet in the other minor semi-final on Wednesday next in Waterford.

Limerick are currently the 6/4 favourites to retain their Munster crown and are the 3/1 joint-favourites, with Kilkenny, to win All-Ireland honours next September in Croke Park.

While Limerick have never won back-to-back Munster MHC titles, there were final appearances in the successive years of 1988 and 1989 - losing to Cork and Clare.

Since the minor quarter-final win over Tipperary, Brian Ryan’s side have played challenge games against Wexford and Laois and senior club teams; Loughrea (Galway) and Broadford (Clare).

Monaleen’s Cian O’Brien is the only squad member carrying a knock.

While Limerick trained throughout the Leaving Certificate they regroup and begin the final countdown to the semi-final this weekend.

Opponents Cork were in the Gaelic Grounds for a training session this week.

Elsewhere, TJ Ryan’s Limerick seniors are also back into collective training after the break for the club championship.

The only injury concern at present is David Reidy, who is battling back from a broken collar bone sustained in the week before the Munster SHC semi-final win over Tipperary.

Cork booked their place in the provincial decider in some style last weekend when beating All Ireland champions Clare in Thurles.

That five point win sets up a rematch of last July’s Munster final against Limerick. The last time that Limerick and Cork met in back-to-back Munster hurling finals was 1979 and 1980. On those occasions Cork won the first time and Limerick the second year.

While Limerick will most likely start with 13 of last year’s Munster final team against Cork, the men in red have under gone changes aplenty.

The return of dual players Aidan Walsh, Damien Cahalane and Eoin Cadogan has bolstered their options. Cahalane is now full back, while Walsh is in midfield.

In attack they have newcomer Alan Cadogan in sparkling form while Paudie O’Sullivan has returned from a long term injury to add extra options in their full forward line.

In the win over Clare, Cork relied heavily on attacker Patrick Horgan for scores. He hit 2-11 of their 2-23 and all his scores were from frees.

In last season’s final between Limerick and Cork he was sent off and later had the red card overturned.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.