Strong Limerick minor hurling team named

There was a busy day of action on the Limerick GAA club scene on Saturday
THE Limerick and Tipperary teams have been named for Thursday night’s Munster minor hurling championship.

THE Limerick and Tipperary teams have been named for Thursday night’s Munster minor hurling championship.

Limerick put their title on the line when the sides meet in the Gaelic Grounds at 7.00.

When they sides met last season Limerick were 1-17 to 0-17 winners enroute to a first provincial title in 29 years.

The Limerick team has seven of the side that started the All Ireland semi final against Galway last Summer.

Cian Lynch captains the team.

The seven who started against Galway were Sean Finn, Andrew La Touche Cosgrave, Ronan Lynch, Barry Nash, Cian Lynch, Tom Morrissey and Colin Ryan.

Eoghan McMcNamara, Jamie Porter, Lorcan Lyons, Seamus Flanagan and Ed Doyle were also part of the 2013 minor panel.

Tipperary have also named their team.

Darragh Peters, Willie Connors and captain Brian Hogan are the only survivors from the team which lost to Limerick last year.

LIMERICK: Eoghan McNamara (Doon); Sean Finn (Bruff), Darragh Fanning (Pallasgreen), Jamie Porter (Monaleen); Andrew La Touche Cosgrave (Monaleen), Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh), Lorcan Lyons (Monaleen), Robbie Hanley (Kilmallock), Cian O’Brien (Mungret), Seamus Flanagan (Feoghanagh-Castlemahon), Barry Nash (South Liberties), Cian Lynch (Patrickswell, Tom Morrissey (Ahane), Ed Doyle (Monaleen), Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen). Subs: Cian Hedderman (Ballybrown), Paddy O Loughlin (Kilmallock), Shane O’Connell (Doon), Thomas Grimes (Na Piarsagh), Dylan Dawson (Blackrock), Cian O’Brien (Monaleen), Eoghan Costelloe (Adane), Conor Moroney (Tournafulla), Conor Fitzgerald (Claughaun).

TIPPERARY: Brian Hogan (Lorrha and Dorrha); Chris McCullagh (Moycarkey-Borris), Jack Skehan (Holycross-Ballycahill), Darragh Peters (Kilruane MacDonaghs); Billy McCarthy (Thurles Sarsfields), Paul Maher (Kilsheelan Kilcash), Conor Ryan (Nenagh Eire Og); Andrew Coffey (Nenagh Éire Óg), Willie Connors (Kildangan); Alan Tynan (Roscrea), Willie Coffey (Toomevara), Shane Hennessy (Nenagh Eire Og); Tommy Nolan (Drom and Inch), Stephen Quirke (Moyle Rovers), Paul Ryan (Toomevara)​. Subs: Gavin Ryan (Upperchurch Drombane), Cian Darcy (Kilruane MacDonaghs), Liam Fahey (Rockwell Rovers), Conor Floyd (Newport), Bill O’Connell (Loughmore-Castleiney), Gavin O’Halloran (Carrick Swan), Ross Peters (St. Mary’s Clonmel), Pa Ryan (Newport), Ronan Teehan (Gortnahoe-Glengoole), Robert Holohan (Newport), Enda Heffernan (Clonoulty-Rossmore), Michael Dunne (Mullinahone), Robbie Long (Drom & Inch), Brian McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), Shane Neville (Lattin-Cullen), Kevin Ahearne (Drom & Inch), Liam McCutcheon (Templederry Kenyons).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.