Seven omissions as Limerick confirm championship hurling panel

Jerome O’Connell


Jerome O’Connell

Limerick joint managers Donal O'Grady, left, and TJ Ryan
THE Limerick senior hurlers have confirmed their championship panel.

THE Limerick senior hurlers have confirmed their championship panel.

A 32-man panel has been finalised to begin preparations for the June 1 Munster championship semi-final against Tipperary in Thurles.

Seven players have been omitted from the initial 2014 panel.

None of the seven were among the 28 players that were used in Limerick’s six game National Hurling League campaign.

The panel was selected by joint-managers TJ Ryan and Donal O’Grady as well as selectors Mark Lyons (Kilmallock) and Paul Beary (Na Piarsaigh).

Among the players dropping out of the panel are Richie English, Darragh O’Donovan and Darragh Kennedy - all members of the Limerick Munster championship winning minor side of 2014.

Also gone are Cathal McNamara, Paudie Aherne, Barry Lynch and Niall Kennedy.

Of the 32 players remaining just Shane Dowling, Mark Carmody Dan Morrissey and David Reidy are U-21s.

Na Piarsaigh and Kilmallock dominate a club that selects hurlers from 18 different clubs - 10 senior clubs, seven premier intermediate and one intermediate. Both Na Piarsaigh and Kilmallock have five players each.

Knockainey and Ballybrown are the only senior sides without representation, while Bruree are the only Premier Intermediate club without a player on the inter-county panel.

Glenroe are the only club outside of the top two grades to be represented.

Twenty five players remain in situ from John Allen’s successful panel of 2013.

There are seven newcomers - Barry Hennessy, Philip O’Loughlin, John Fitzgibbon, Thomas O’Brien, William Hickey, Micheal Ryan, Dan Morrissey,

Noteworthy is that the Limerick management have opted to carry three goalkeepers.

Limerick’s first outing on their challenge game schedule ahead of the championship will be on Saturday April 26 when they play Cork in Charleville at 6.00.

Long term injured trio Declan Hannon, Seamus Hickey and David Breen could pin-point that Cork game for returns or perhaps line-out with their respective clubs the following weekend in the Limerick SHC.

LIMERICK PANEL: David Breen, Shane Dowling, Kevin Downes, Cathal King, Alan Dempsey (all Na Piarsaigh), Paudie O’Brien, Gavin O’Mahony, Graeme Mulcahy, Barry Hennessy, Philip O’Loughlin (all Kilmallock), John Fitzgibbon, Wayne McNamara, Declan Hannon (all Adare) Nickie Quaid and Tommy Quaid (both Effin), Seamus Hickey and Seanie Tobin (both Murroe-Boher), Thomas O’Brien and Mark Carmody (Patrickswell), William Hickey and Tom Ryan (both South Liberties), Micheal Ryan (Doon), Stephen Walsh (Glenroe), Donal O’Grady (Granagh-Ballingarry), Richie McCarthy (Blackrock), Tom Condon (Knockaderry), Paul Browne (Bruff), James Ryan (Garryspillane), Aaron Murphy (Hospital-Herbertstown), Conor Allis (Croom), David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca), Dan Morrissey (Ahane).