Cavan man included on Limerick football panel

John Brudair has added 24 new players to the Limerick football panel for 2014
New Limerick football manager John Brudair has added 24 new players to join up with last year’s panel ahead of the 2014 National League campaign.

New Limerick football manager John Brudair has added 24 new players to join up with last year’s panel ahead of the 2014 National League campaign.

Just weeks into their new role, John Brudair and his management team have cast their net wide in efforts to unearth new talent for the county football panel.

They held three trials in the past two weeks and have now confirmed the 24 new players to join those from the 2013 panel.

Among the 24 newcomers are ten U-21 players.

The list of fresh faces includes players from junior B, junior A, intermediate and senior football clubs.

Indeed just three SFC sides - Ballylanders, Fr Caseys and Pallasgreen - are without players on the list of new arrivals.

County champions Dromcollogher-Broadford lead the way with five players.

Among that five is Killian Phair - a Rathkeale based secondary school teacher. The Cavan native played senior football with London from 2009 to 2011.

The 27-year-old corner forward was one of the top scoring forwards in the club championship in his first season with Drom-Broadford.

Others on the new list are former inter-county underage hurlers - Gearoid Hegarty, Stephen Cahill and Barry O’Connell.

Cahill was full back for the Limerick minors in this year’s Munster final replay, while O’Connell won a Munster U-21 hurling title in 2011.

Other names of note in the panel are former Irish junior international soccer players - Keith Hartnett (St Marys Sean Finns) and Eoin Hanrahan (St Patricks).

“We were very happy with the response to the trials. We saw over 50 new players and have now finalised our list,” said new Limerick manager John Brudair.

“We will put everyone through training for the next 10-12 weeks and see how they get on. We need to see if they have what is needed for an inter-county set-up.”

Brudair and Co selected 10 U-21 players.

“They will form the backbone the of U-21 panel next year even if they don’t make it with us,” said Brudair.

All players on the panel will be put through a fitness test this weekend as the physical training gathers pace.

The panel, which stands at over 40 at present, will be finalised ahead of Limerick’s opening league game.

Limerick travel to Sligo for that first round tie on February 2.

Of course, Limerick won’t be playing in January’s McGrath Cup so will have to go down the challenge game route.

Brudair remains in discussion with a number of the senior players as to their plans for 2014.

“So far everyone is on board but we need to finalise a few things with different players in the next week or so,” said the manager, who is joined by selectors Declan Brouder and Mike Fahy in the new management.

Gearoid Hegarty (St Patricks)

Barry O’Connell (Kildimo-Pallaskenry)

Robbie Burke (Adare)

Sean McSweeney (St Kierans)

Danny Neville (Ballysteen)

Cian Sheehan (Newcastle West)

Stephen Cahill (Mountcollins)

Paul White (St Marys Sean Finns)

Sean Barrett (Bruff)

Cillian Fahy (Dromcollogher-Broadford)

Colin Moran (Monaleen)

Bill Creamer (Cappamore)

Garrett Noonan (Dromcollogher-Broadford)

Padraig Quinn (Monaleen)

Killian Phair (Dromcollogher-Broadford)

Eoin Hanrahan (St Patricks)

John Mullane (St Patricks)

Patrick O’Donnell (Galbally)

Derry McCarthy (Dromcollogher-Broadford)

Micheal Brosnan (Dromcollogher-Broadford)

Padraig Scanlon (Glin)

Keith Hartnett (St Marys Sean Finns)

Jamie Lee (Newcastle West)

Peter Nash (Kildimo-Pallaskenry)