Newly-elected Limerick councillors appointed to boards and committees

Newly-elected Limerick councillors appointed to boards and committees

THE first annual general meeting of the new local authority saw councillors appointed to boards and committees.

On the Association of Irish Local Government are Cllrs Joe Leddin, Kieran O’Hanlon and Dan McSweeney.

The Southern Regional Assembly members are Cllrs Frankie Daly, plus Fine Gael and Fianna Fail leaders John Sheahan and Michael Collins. Their role will be crucial, with the assembly set to decide on the controversial regional spatial strategy in the coming months.

The Market Trustees are Cllrs Brian Leddin, Fergus Kilcoyne, Elisa O’Donovan, Catherine Slattery, Jerry O’Dea, James Collins, Azad Talukder, Olivia O’Sullivan, Mayor Michael Sheahan, Daniel Butler, Sarah Kiely, Michael Murphy, and Cappamore councillor Martin Ryan, and the aforementioned members Daly and O’Hanlon. Cllr Jerome Scanlan will sit on the Library Association of Ireland, while Cllr Martin Ryan will be on the Irish Public Bodies Mutual Insurances Board.

Cllr John Sheahan will represent Limerick on the Local Authority Members Association, while his namesake, Mayor Michael Sheahan will sit on the governing authority of the University of Limerick.

He will be joined by the new Cathaoirleach of the metropolitan district, likely to be James Collins.

On the HSE West forum are Cllrs John Egan, Sean Hartigan, Francis Foley, and Kevin Sheahan, plus the aforementioned John Sheahan, Daly and McSweeney.

Cllr Olivia O’Sullivan will sit on the board of the St Munchin’s Community Development Company, while Cllrs Brigid Teefy, Elena Seas, Mike Donegan, John Sheahan, Kiely, O’Hanlon will sit on the Limerick-Clare Education and Training Board.

Labour councillor Joe Leddin will chair the travel and transport policy committee, while environment will be chaired by Jerome Scanlan.

The high-profile economic committee chair is Eddie Ryan, while community chair is Kieran O’Hanlon. Chairman of the housing committee is Michael Murphy.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.