Limerick rivals clash in opening AIL fixture

Colm Kinsella

Reporter:

Colm Kinsella

LIMERICK will play host to two Friday night games on the opening weekend of the new All-Ireland League season.

LIMERICK will play host to two Friday night games on the opening weekend of the new All-Ireland League season.

In the first Limerick derby in Division 1A, Shannon will host Young Munster at Thomond Park on Friday, September 28 at 7.30pm.

Across town, Garryowen will host Cork rivals Dolphin on the same evening at Dooradoyle.

This will be the first time that a ‘Friday Night Lights’ AIL fixture in Limerick will feature a side from outside of the city.

UL-Bohemian, who gained promotion to 1A for next season as a result of winning 1B last season, begin their top flight campaign away to holders St Mary’s College at Templeville Road on Saturday, September 29.

The second local derby in 1A takes place on Friday, November 2 when UL-Bohs’ host Garryowen at Thomond Park at 7.30pm.

A week later, on Friday, November 9, Garryowen face another big derby clash, this time against Shannon at Dooradoyle.

On the same night, UL-Bohs’ will host Young Munster at Thomond Park.

There is a rare Sunday derby fixture on November 18 when Young Munster host Garryowen at Tom Clifford Park.

The tie has been arranged for that day to avoid a clash with Ireland’s autumn international with Fiji at Thomond Park the previous evening.

The League will take a five-week break from the first weekend in December until Friday, January 4 when it resumes with another Limerick derby as UL-Bohemain host Shannon at Thomond Park.

In Division 1B, Bruff being their League campaign at home to Ballymena on Saturday, September 29 at Kilballyowen Park.

In Division 2A of the League, Old Crescent’s opening fixture will be at home to Queen’s University at Rosbrien on September 29.

Thomond start life in 2B with an away game against Sunday’s Well at Musgrave Park on the opening Saturday of the season.

The Fitzgerald Park side play their first home game in the League on Saturday, October 7 when NUIM/Barnhall visit Fitzgerald Park.

selected AIL FIXTURES 2012-13

DIVISION 1A 2012-13

Friday 28 Sept: Garryowen v Dolphin, Shannon v Young Munster; Sat 29 Sept: St Mary’s College v UL Bohemian; Sat 6 Oct: Clontarf v Garryowen, Lansdowne v Shannon, UL Bohemian v Cork Constitution, Young Munster v St Mary’s College; Sat 27 Oct: Clontarf v UL Bohemian, Cork Constitution v Young Munster, Garryowen v Old Belvedere, Shannon v Dolphin; Fri 2 Nov: UL Bohemian v Garryowen; Sat 3 Nov: Old Belvedere v Shannon, Young Munster v Clontarf; Fri 9 Nov: Garryowen v Shannon, UL Bohemian v Young Munster; Sat 17 Nov: Lansdowne v UL Bohemian; Sun 18 Nov: Shannon v St Mary’s College, Young Munster v Garryowen; Sat 1 Dec: Cork Constitution v Shannon, Garryowen v St Mary’s College, UL Bohemian v Dolphin, Young Munster v Lansdowne; Fri 4 Jan: UL Bohemian v Shannon; Sat 5 Jan: Cork Constitution v Garryowen, Young Munster v Old Belvedere; Sat 26 Jan: Dolphin v Young Munster, Garryowen v Lansdowne, Old Belvedere v UL Bohemian, Shannon v Clontarf; Fri 1 Feb: Shannon v UL Bohemian; Sat 2 Feb: Garryowen v Cork Constitution, Old Belvedere v Young Munster; Sat 16 Feb: Clontarf v Shannon, Lansdowne v Garryowen, UL Bohemian v Old Belvedere, Young Munster v Dolphin; Fri 22 Feb: Garryowen v UL Bohemian; Sat 23 Feb: Clontarf v Young Munster, Shannon v Old Belvedere; Sat 2 Mar: Dolphin v UL Bohemian, Lansdowne v Young Munster, Shannon v Cork Constitution, St Mary’s College v Garryowen; Sat 16 Mar: Dolphin v Shannon, Old Belvedere v Garryowen, UL Bohemian v Clontarf, Young Munster v Cork Constitution; Fri 22 Mar: Garryowen v Young Munster; Sat 23 Mar: St Mary’s College v Shannon, UL Bohemian v Lansdowne; Fri 29 Mar: Young Munster v UL Bohemian, Shannon v Garryowen; Fri 12 Apr: Dolphin v Garryowen; Sat 13 Apr: UL Bohemian v St Mary’s College, Young Munster v Shannon; Sat 20 Apr: Cork Constitution v UL Bohemian, Garryowen v Clontarf, Shannon v Lansdowne, St Mary’s College v Young Munster

BRUFF’S AIL DIVISION 1B FIXTURES 2012-13

Sat 29 Sept: Bruff v Ballymena; Sat 6 Oct: UCD v Bruff; Sat 27 Oct: Malone v Bruff; Sat 3 Nov: Bruff v Dublin University; Sun 11 Nov: Buccaneers v Bruff; Sat 17 Nov: Bruff v Belfast Harlequins; Sat 1 Dec: Ballynahinch v Bruff; Sat 5 Jan: Bruff v Blackrock College RFC; Sat 26 Jan: Dungannon v Bruff; Sat 2 Feb: Bruff v UCD; Sat 16 Feb: Bruff v Malone; Sat 23 Feb: Belfast Harlequins v Bruff; Sat 2 Mar: Bruff v Ballynahinch; Sat 16 Mar: Blackrock College RFC v Bruff; Sat 23 Mar: Bruff v Dungannon; Sat 30 Mar: Ballymena v Bruff; Sat 13 Apr: Dublin University v Bruff; Sat 20 Apr: Bruff v Buccaneers

OLD CRESCENT’S AIL DIVISION 2A FIXTURES

Sat 29 Sept: Old Crescent v Queens University; Sat 6 Oct: Cashel RFC v Old Crescent; Sat 27 Oct: Old Crescent v UCC; Sat 3 Nov: Midleton v Old Crescent; Sun 18 Nov: Old Crescent v Old Wesley; Sat 1 Dec: Old Crescent v Banbridge

Sat 8 Dec: DLSP v Old Crescent; Sat 19 Jan: Old Crescent v Galwegians; Sat 26 Jan: Highfield v Old Crescent; Sat 16 Feb: Old Crescent v Bective Rangers; Sat 23 Feb: Greystones v Old Crescent; Sat 2 Mar: Old Crescent v Corinthians; Sat 23 Mar: Terenure v Old Crescent; Sat 30 Mar: Seapoint v Old Crescent; Sat 13 Apr: Old Crescent v City of Derry

THOMOND’S AIL DIVISION 2B FIXTURES 2012-13

Sat 29 Sept: Sundays Well v Thomond; Sat 6 Oct: Thomond v NUIM Barnhall; Sat 27 Oct: Instonians v Thomond; Sat 3 Nov: Thomond v Skerries; Sat 17 Nov: Navan RFC v Thomond; Sat 1 Dec: Thomond v Boyne; Sat 8 Dec: Naas v Thomond; Fri 18 Jan: Nenagh Ormond v Thomond; Sat 26 Jan: Thomond v Ards; Sat 16 Feb: Connemara v Thomond; Sat 23 Feb: Suttonians v Thomond; Sat 2 Mar: Thomond v Armagh; Sat 23 Mar: Thomond v Clonakilty; Sat 30 Mar: Rainey OB v Thomond; Sat 13 Apr: Thomond v Sligo