Limerick U-21s include eight senior hurlers

Jerome O’Connell


Jerome O’Connell

EIGHTS members of the Limerick senior hurling panel will backbone the defence of the Munster U-21 championship title.

EIGHTS members of the Limerick senior hurling panel will backbone the defence of the Munster U-21 championship title.

Limerick open the defence of their provincial U-21 hurling this Wednesday night against Tipperary in the Gaelic Grounds at 7.30 in a game that will be televised live on TG4.

Limerick have named eight members of John Allen’s senior panel in the starting team for the Munster semi-final.

The team will be captained by wing back Robert Egan from Kilmallock.

He is joined in the half back line by Declan Hannon at centre back. Hannon was a goal scrorer for the Limerick seniors from wing forward on Saturday against Clare.

Hannon was a used substitute in that 3-18 to 1-20 win over Clare in Thurles, meaning that Shane Dowling is the only U-21 player to have started for the seniors.

Limerick senior sub-goalkeeper Aaron Murphy lines out between the posts - as he did last season for the U-21s.

Alan Dempsey and Stevie O’Reilly continue as the corner backs with Daniel Morrissey now at full back - a role he filled for the Limerick intermediates this season.

Last year’s wing backs Cathal McNamara and Thomas O’Callaghan are now among the subs with Egan, Hannon and fellow senior panelists Tom Ryan completing the half back line.

Seanie O’Brien continues in midfield from last season and is joined by newcomer Shane Kenny.

Last season’s centre forward Niall Kennedy is joined in the half forward line by seniors Dowling and Mark Carmody.

In the inside line of attack 2011 captain Kevin Downes takes his place at full forward with Mikey Ryan and Willie Griffin in the corners.

Limerick are under new management this season with John Fitzgerald (Na Piarsiagh) now the manager. He is joined by selectors; Ollie Moran, Natal O’Grady and Frank Houlihan.

LIMERICK - Aaron Murphy (Hospital-Herbertstown); Alan Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh), Dan Morrissey (Ahane), Stephen O’Reilly (Ballybrown); Robert Egan (Kilmallock), Declan Hannon (Adare), Tom Ryan (South Liberties); Shane Kenny (Ballybrown), Seanie O’Brien (Patrickswell); Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh), Niall Kennedy (Granagh-Ballingarry), Mark Carmody (Patrickswell); Mikey Ryan (Murroe-Boher), Kevin Downes (Na Piarsaigh), Willie Griffin (Adare). Subs: Owen Webb O’Rourke (Kilmallock), Micheal Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca), Tom O’Callaghan (Monagea), Cathal McNamara (Doon), Mark O’Connell (Glenroe), Robert O’Donnell (Pallasgreen), John Fitzgibbon (Adare), Adrian Breen (Na Piarsaigh), Jack Ahern (Killeedy).

Extended panel: Barry O’Connell (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Barry Lynch (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), William Hickey (South Liberties), Paudie Ahern (Kilteely-Dromkeen), Brendan O’Connor (Croagh-Kilfinny), Padraic Barron (Knockainey), Michael Barry (Doon).