Limerick champions Ballybrown in Munster club action

Jerome O’Connell


Jerome O’Connell

Ballybrown and Ballinhassig meet once again this Saturday in the Munster club intermediate hurling championship

Ballybrown and Ballinhassig meet once again this Saturday in the Munster club intermediate hurling championship

BALLYBROWN have opted to go to Fitzgerald Park in Kilmallock for Saturday’s replayed Munster intermediate club hurling championship quarter-final with Ballinhassig. Throw-in 2.00.

The Clarina based club are hoping to relive the jubilant celebrations that accompanied their recent county final win at the south Limerick venue.

Ballybrown are looking to advance to the provincial semi-final.

That last four game would again take place at a Limerick venue on November 10.

Opponents would be Kerry senior champions, Ballyduff.

The side beaten by Effin in last year’s Munster IHC final are now coached by Patrickswell’s PJ O’Grady, who certainly would need no introduction to his fellow parishioners if Ballybrown win Saturday’s replay.

In the other side of the draw, Waterford’s An Rinn play Silvermines of Tipperary in the semi-final.

Despite the celebrations of returning to the senior ranks, Ballybrown defied the odds and went to Cork to play Ballinhassig last weekend.

In an closely fought quarter-final tie, Ballybrown went close to victory and it was the Cork champions that had to battle back to secure extra time and the replay with late scores.

With the annual pressure of winning the county intermediate championship now removed Ballybrown hurled with a new-found freedom in Cork.

Another display like that would see Ballybrown rekindle their former glory days in Munster.

Indeed their management team is full of experience at this level with manager Christy Keyes, trainer Dave Mahedy and coach Clem Smith all involved with varying teams in the Munster club previously.

Munster club senior champions in 1989 when they defeated Sixmilebridge in the Munster final.

They then beat Loughgiel Shamrocks in the All-Ireland semi-final in early 1990 before losing to Kilkenny’s Ballyhale Shamrocks on St Patrick’s Day in the All-Ireland final.

They again progressed to the Munster club after winning their second Limerick title in 1991 but there was no memorable victories on that occasion.