Limerick football champions change manager

 Surprise as SFC winners opt for change

Limerick football champions change manager

LIMERICK SFC winners Newcastle West have surprisingly opted to change their 2016 management.

Overall, five contenders for honours have kept faith with their set-ups.

Newcastle West’s winning manager Mike Quilligan is to be replaced by a joint-managers – Antoin McFadden and Aidan McMahon. Donegal All Ireland winner McFadden was coach last season, while McMahon was selector.

Elsewhere, Monaleen, Ballylanders, Drom-Broadford, Fr Caseys and intermediate champions Oola all remain with the same managers.

Na Piarsaigh, St Patricks, Ballysteen and Pallasgreen are yet to finalise.

Like Newcastle West, Rathkeale have changed but kept some of their 2015 backroom team. Graham Shine is again coach but Brian Nolan is manager.

St Kierans appointed trio Mikey Greaney, Noel Broderick, Pat Dalton.

BALLYLANDERS - Manager-coach: Ephie Fitzgerald, Selectors: Joe Daly and Dave Lonergan.


DROM-BROADFORD - Joint-managers: Micheal Reidy and Neil Conway.

FR CASEYS - Manager: John Colbert.

MONALEEN - Manager: Muiris Gavin.


NEWCASTLE WEST - Joint-managers: Antoin McFadden and Aidan McMahon, Selectors: Joe McMahon, Pa Meehan. 

OOLA - Manager: Alan O’Mahony, Coach: Derek Ryan, Selectors: Willie O’Mahony and Liam Ryan.


RATHKEALE - Manager: Brian Nolan, Coach: Graham Shine, Selector: Joe Roe, Statistician: Anita Baggott.

ST KIERANS - Management team: Mikey Greaney, Noel Broderick, Pat Dalton.