Limerick IHC - Ballybrown beat neighbours Mungret in semi-final

Jerome O’Connell


Jerome O’Connell

BALLYBROWN are back in the final of the Limerick intermediate hurling championship.

BALLYBROWN are back in the final of the Limerick intermediate hurling championship.

Beaten in the 2011 final by Effin, Ballybrown returned to the final with an 1-20 to 0-9 win over neighbours Mungret.

The winners, who include Dave Mahedy and Clem Smith in their management team, scored 1-12 in a dominant second half display.

Mungret, backed by the slight wind, had set the pace for much of the opening half but still trailed 0-8 to 0-6 at half time in Kilmallock.

They were to score just three Brendan Giltenane frees in the second half.

Ballybrown were on their way back into the final inside three minutes of the second half when David Hall goaled.

Alan O’Connor, Brian Griffin and Kyle Loftus all fired over points in quick succession and within five minutes of the restart they were 1-11 to 0-6 clear.

O’Connor was to finish with a tally of 0-13. Crucially for the full forward, six of his scores came from play.

Shane Kenny (3) and Mikey Kiely (2) also got in on the scoring act for the winners.

SCORES - Ballybrown: Alan O’Connor 0-13 (frees), Shane Kenny 0-3, David Hall 1-0, Mikey Kiely 0-2, Brian Griffin, Kyle Loftus 0-1 each. Mungret: Brendan Giltenane 0-8 (5frees, ‘ 65), Denis Giltenane 0-1.

BALLYBROWN - David Lyons; Roddy Burke, James Kennedy, Stevie O’Reilly; Ian Burke, Richie Kenny, Des Kenny; Kyle Loftus, James Hall; Pat Hartigan, Brian Griffin, Shane Kenny; Mikey Kiely, Alan O’Connor, David Hall. Subs: Evan Loftus for Hartigan (47mins), Adrian Roberts for Richie Kenny (51mins), Lee Doolin for Kyle Loftus (58mins).

MUNGRET - David Bulfin; Jack O’Callaghan, Patrick Begley, Stephen McDonnell; Ken Savage, Colm Moriarty, Joe Moriarty; Brian Tobin, Barry O’Grady; Richard Burke, John Malone, Denis Giltenane; Brendan Giltenane, Brian Begley, Tom Giltenane. Subs: John Kenny for O’Grady (39mins), Robert Nix for Joe Moriarty (58mins), Niall Barron for O’Callaghan (58mins).

REFEREE - Jason Mullins (St Kierans).

See the weekend print edition of the Limerick Leader for a full match report