Limerick IHC - Dromin-Athlacca book final spot

Dromin-Athlacca booked their spot in the final with a 4-16 to 1-17 win over Killedy.

Dromin-Athlacca booked their spot in the final with a 4-16 to 1-17 win over Killedy.

Dromin-Athlacca laid the foundation for the impressive win with three goals inside the opening six minutes.

James Kelleher notched two goals in the first 90-seconds.

Two Jack Aherne frees settled Killeedy before Tieran Ryan had goal number three for the winners.

Killeedy did back back galantly and it was 3-2 to 0-8 after 20-minutes.

But then came the fourth goal when David Reidy crashed to the net from 21-metres for the pick of the four goals.

That had his side 4-3 to 08 ahead and Killeedy needed a miracle.

By half time it was 4-9 to 0-11.

As well as the goals, Dromin-Athlacca had four points from David Reidy and three from Tiernan Ryan in the opening half.

At the other end of the field Killeedy were far too reliant on Jack Ahern. He finished with 0-16. In a masterclass of free-taking, Ahern notched 11 points from placed balls and added a sideline cut and four points from play for good measure.

Dromin-Athlacca will now play Ballybrown in the final on the weekend of October 20/21.

SCORES - Dromin-Athlacca: David Reidy 1-7, Tiernan Ryan 1-3, James Kelleher 2-0, Paul Neenan 0-5 (4frees), Michael Reidy 0-1. Killeedy: Jack Ahern 0-16 (11frees, 1lineball), Cathal Mullane 1-0 (free), Enda O’Connor 0-1.

DROMIN-ATHLACCA - Mark Moynihan; Donal Walsh, Brian Kelleher, Gearoid O’Leary; Peter Ryan, Eoin Benson, Michael Kelleher; Tomas Breen, Gerard Kelleher; Paul Neenan, David Reidy, Michael Reidy; Eoin O’Leary, Tiernan Ryan, James Kelleher. Subs: David Mullins for Michael Kelleher (31mins), Eoin O’Connell for Gerard Kelleher (45mins), Derek Kenny for Peter Ryan (54mins), Patrick Lynch for Moynihan (58mins).

KILLEEDY - John Kennedy; Robert Cunningham, John Cunningham, Paul Casey; Tomas McEnery, Danny Cremin, Sean Mullane; Cathal Mullane, Shane Kelly; Patrick Cremin, Enda O’Connor, Michael Barry; Roger Hayes, James Fitzmaurice, Jack Ahern. Subs: Christopher Moxey for Roger Hayes, inj (12mins), Gerard Barry for Casey (h-t), David John Hayes for O’Connor (38mins), Joe Hayes for Moxey (42mins),Enda Shine for Sean Mullane (51mins).

REFEREE - Mike O’Connor (Na Piarsaigh).

See weekend print edition of the Limerick Leader for a full report