Limerick hurlers fail to Clare challenge

JOHN Allen’s Limerick senior hurlers suffered another challenge game defeat last weekend.

JOHN Allen’s Limerick senior hurlers suffered another challenge game defeat last weekend.

After losing to UL the previous week, 1-20 to 0-16, last Saturday Limerick lost 2-18 to 0-18 to Clare.

The game was played in the GAA grounds of LIT.

Limerick used 23 players during the game.

Indeed over the past two weekend, manager John Allen and selectors Eamonn Meskell and John Kiely has used nearly all of their 39-man panel. Among the players yet to return are Gavin O’Mahony, Graeme Mulcahy and Seamus Hickey.

In this game against Clare, it was Davy Fitzgeral’s Banner that dominated from the off.

Pallaskenry based secondary school teacher Colin Ryan led the way for Clare as they raced into a 0-6 to 0-2 lead by the end of the first quarter.

Declan Hannon inspired the Limerick fight back but then Clare hit two goals before half time.

Alan O’Neill and Sean Collins were the goal scorers as Clare led 2-11 to 0-7.

In the second half, Limerick’s Shane Dowling and David Reidy led the scoring.

But Limerick never found the goal they needed.

Scorers: Limerick: S. Dowling 0-5 (3frees, 1’65), D. Reidy 0-4, D. Hannon 0-3 (2frees), S. O’Brien, N. Moran, P. O’Brien, A. Breen, B. O’Connell, P. Ahern 0-1 each. Clare: S. Collins 1-3, N. O’Connell 0-5 (1free), C. Ryan 0-5 (3frees), A. O’Neill 1-0, J. Conlon 0-2 (1free), J. Clancy 0-2, S. O’Donnell 0-1.

LIMERICK - Aaron Murphy; Alan Dempsey, Pat Begley, Shane O’Neill; Stephen Walsh, Wayne McNamara, Cathal King; Paudie O’Brien, David Moloney; Declan Hannon, David Breen, Seanie O’Brien; Mikey Ryan, Niall Moran, Adrian Breen. Subs: Nickie Quaid for Murphy (h-t), Mark Carmody for Dempsey (h-t), Tom Condon for O’Neill (h-t), Shane Dowling for Hannon (h-t), David Reidy for Ryan (h-t), Paudie Ahern for A. Breen (h-t), Barry O’Connell for Moloney (54mins), Mark O’Connell for D. Breen (58mins).

CLARE - Donal Tuohy; Conor Duggan, James McInerney, Conor Cooney; Brendan Bugler, Patrick Donnellan, Liam Markham; Nicky O’Connell, Conor Ryan; John Conlon, Sean Collins, Enda Barrett; Jonathan Clancy, Alan O’Neill, Shane O’Donnell. Subs: Pat Kelly for Markham (47mins), Patrick Kelly for Tuohy (54mins), Fergal Lynch for O’Neill (57mins), Mark Flaherty for O’Donnell (57mins), Colin Nelson for Duggan (62mins), Alan O’Neill for Barrett (65mins).

REFEREE - Cathal McAllister (Cork).