Limerick derby in Harty Cup

Jerome O’Connell


Jerome O’Connell

LOCAL pride will very much be to the forefront in today’s eagerly awaited quarter-final tie between Ardscoil Ris and Doon CBS in the Dr Harty Cup.

LOCAL pride will very much be to the forefront in today’s eagerly awaited quarter-final tie between Ardscoil Ris and Doon CBS in the Dr Harty Cup.

Winners in 2010 and 2011, Ardscoil Ris have been installed as 4/9 favourites to advance to the semi-final for a fifth successive year in a game that takes place in Bruff at 1.30 this Wednesday.

Doon CBS are available at 15/8 and will relish the task of toppling the school from the North Circular Road.

The cream of Limerick underage talent will be on display and no doubt Limerick minor hurling manager Brian Ryan will be among the expected large attendance at the Munster senior A colleges hurling championship game.

Largely, this Dr Harty Cup game will be battle between the club sides of Doon and Na Piarsaigh - Doon provide 12 players to their local secondary school panel, while Na Piarsaigh provide 14 members of the Ardscoil panel.

Ardscoil Ris arrive into their seventh successive quarter-final with a 100% record with wins over Castletroy College, De La Salle, St Colmans and Clonmel.

Doon lost to Dungarvan but then bounced back to beat St Caimins, Gaelcholaiste Mhuire and St Flannans.

The all-Limerick battle will be a repeat of the 2008 quarter-final. On that occasion in Croagh, Ardscoil Ris were 3-9 to 0-9 winners. It was an Ardscoil team that included current Clare seniors; Nicky O’Connell, Darach Honan and Cathal McInerney as well as Limerick’s Kevin Downes and Thomas O’Brien.

The Doon side contained Cathal McNamara, Robert O’Donnell and Eamonn Gleeson.

This season Doon are managed by teachers; Justin Daly, Denis Leonard and Diarmuid Carr.

Key to Doon will be Darragh O’Donovan, Dean Coleman, Richie English and Stephen Ryan.

Ardscoil Ris are managed by teachers Niall Crowe and Victor Leydon.

Last season’s Limerick minor captain and free-taker Ronan Lynch will be at centre back with fellow 2012 minor Cian Lynch in attack. Others key to their progress will be William O’Donoghue, David Dempsey, Eoghan Keogh and Cian O’Brien.

On Thursday at 1.30 in Tipperary Town, Castletroy College play Thurles in another of the Harty Cup quarter-finals.

ARDSCOIL RIS PANEL - Conor Houlihan, Mark Buckley, Josh O‘Halloran, Michael Casey, Ronan Lynch, William O’Donoghue, Michael Foley, Eoin Keogh, Kieran Daly, Thomas Grimes, Gordon Brown, Lee Coughlan, Evan O’Brien, David Dempsey (all Na Piarsaigh), Andrew Carroll, Cian Lynch, Aaron Gillane, Keith Cawley (all Patrickswell), Cian O’Brien, Niall Mulcahy, Alex Potter (all Mungret), Eoghan Costelloe, Jack English, Killian Hannon, Oisin Heffernan (all Adare), Eoin Quilty, Enda Meaney (both South Liberties), Michael O’Neill (Crecora), Colin Crehan, Ronan Broderick (both O’Callaghan’s Mills), Micheal O’Loughlin, Paraic O Loughlin, Ian Galvin, Sean Moriarty, Fionn Larkin (all Clonlara), Kevin McGlennon, Cian McCarthy (both Parteen), Barry Fitzpatrick (Sixmilebridge).

DOON CBS PANEL - Pat Ryan, Richie English, Darragh O’Donovan, Dean Coleman, Stephen Ryan, Raymond Ryan, Pat Cummins, Thomas Hayes, Shane O’Connell, Barry Murphy, Fiachra O’Grady, Cian McNamara (all Doon), Mike Dee (Murroe-Boher), Colin Ryan, Darren Cosgrave, Brian McCarthy (all Pallasgreen) Kevin Stapleton, David Orr, Eanna Heffernan, David Buckley (all Cappawhite), Adam Coleman, David Lonergan, Anthony Foley (all Cappamore), Mike Fox (Eire Og, Annacarty), Shane Stapleton (Sean Treacys).