Limerick SHC - Na Piarsaigh beat Ahane

Jerome O’Connell


Jerome O’Connell

Na Piarsaigh's Alan Dempsey breaks through midfield in the win over Ahane
NA Piarsaigh eased into the semi-finals of the Limerick SHC with a 3-16 to 0-7 win over Ahane in the Gaelic Grounds this Sunday.

NA Piarsaigh eased into the semi-finals of the Limerick SHC with a 3-16 to 0-7 win over Ahane in the Gaelic Grounds this Sunday.

The city side completely dominated this Limerick SHC quarter-final tie from start to finish, to advance to the semi-final with champions Kilmallock.

Although Ahane looked off the pace in the opening half they still only trailed 1-6 to 0-4 at half time, although Na Piarsaigh had the aid of the wind in the second half.

A blistering start from the Caherdavin men had them 1-4 to 0-1 ahead after 12-minutes. The goal came from Kevin Downes.

But at the interval the lead was five points.

On the change of ends, Ahane started brightly and it was 1-7 to 0-6 with 25-minutes to play.

But Ahane were to score just one more point and that came from 37 year old Ollie Moran, who was back playing his first season game of the year after coming out of retirement to play junior hurling.

Na Piarsaigh reacted perfectly to the brief Ahane surge at the start of the second half and Kevin Downes and Adrian Breen had their second and third goals.

Scores: Na Piarsaigh: Shane Dowling 0-7 (3frees, 1 ‘65), Kevin Downes 2-1, Adrian Breen 1-1, Alan Dempsey, William O’Donoghue, Kieran Kennedy, Kevin Ryan, Cathal King, David Sheppard, Brian Hartnett 0-1 each. Ahane: Richard Ryan 0-3 (2frees ‘65), Niall Moran 0-2 (1 lineball), Paul O’Halloran, Ollie Moran 0-1 each.

Na Piarsaigh: Padraig Kennedy; Kieran Bermingham, Kieran Breen, Niall Buckley; Cathal King, David Breen, James O’Brien; Alan Dempsey, Pat Gleeson; Kieran Kennedy, Shane Dowling, John Madden; Kevin Downes, Damien Quigley, Adrian Breen. Subs: Kevin Ryan for John Madden (21mins), David Sheppard for Damien Quigley (h-t), William O’Donoghue for Alan Dempsey, inj (h-t), Brian Hartnett for Pat Gleeson (46mins), Mike Casey for Kieran Bermingham (51mins).

Ahane: Jonathan Hayes; Paraic Treacy, Cathal O’Reilly, Seamus Harnett; Mike Carr, Dan Morrissey, Cathal Ryan; Niall Moran, Mark Foley; Richard Ryan, Fergus Ahern, David Laing; Tom Morrissey, John Meskell, Paul O’Halloran. Subs: Pa Meskel for Mark Hayes (44mins), Ollie Moran for John Meskell (44mins).Jeffrey Enright for Paraic Treacy (53mins), Killian Enright for Paul O’Halloran (58mins), Paddy Morrissey for Richard Ryan (58mins).

Referee: Jason Mullins (St Kierans).

See the weekend print edition of the Limerick Leader for a full report and pictures.