Limerick hurling panel finalised

Jerome O’Connell


Jerome O’Connell

JOHN Allen has finalised his 2013 Limerick senior hurling panel, dropping five players from last season.

JOHN Allen has finalised his 2013 Limerick senior hurling panel, dropping five players from last season.

The Limerick senior hurling manager and his selectors have confirmed a 30-man panel for the forthcoming Allianz League.

They have cut nine players from their extended panel for pre-season challenge games and the Waterford Crystal Cup competition.

There are six new players on the panel - Na Piarsaigh trio Alan Dempsey, Cathal King and Adrian Breen, Dromin-Athlacca’s David Reidy, Mungret’s Patrick Begley and Kilteely-Dromkeen’s Paudie Ahern.

Back in November, 10-players were adding to the Limerick panel, but four of this group have now been cut - Kilmallock’s Robbie Egan, Jack Aherne (Killeedy), Mark O’Connell (Glenroe) and Barry O’Connell (Kildimo-Pallaskenry).

The five players from the 2012 panel that are no longer involved are Patrickswell brothers Thomas and Seanie O’Brien, Dave Moloney (Blackrock), Niall Maher (Doon) and Mikey Ryan (Murroe-Boher).

The new 30-man panel includes players from 19 different clubs - 12 senior, six intermediate and one junior (Kilteely-Dromkeen).

Just four senior clubs have no inter-county senior representation - Doon, Bruree, Ballybrown and Knockainey.

The panel includes two sets of brothers; the Quaid’s of Effin and the Breen’s of Na Piarsaigh.

Na Piarsaigh lead the representation on the panel with six players, while county champions Kilmallock have three players.

Effin, Murroe-Boher, South Liberties and Adare all have two players each.

The Limerick hurlers open their league campaign on February 24 against Antrim in the Gaelic Grounds.

LIMERICK PANEL - Alan Dempsey, Cathal King, Shane Dowling, David Breen, Kevin Downes, Adrian Breen (all Na Piarsaigh), Paudie O’Brien (vice-vaptain), Gavin O’Mahony, Graeme Mulcahy (all Kilmallock), Nicky Quaid, Tommy Quaid (both Effin), Seamus Hickey, Seanie Tobin (both Murroe-Boher), Shane O’Neill, Tom Ryan (both South Liberties), Wayne McNamara, Declan Hannon (both Adare), Aaron Murphy (Hospital-Herbertstown), Tom Condon (Knockaderry), Richie McCarthy (Blackrock), Stephen Walsh (Glenroe), Patrick Begley (Mungret), Donal O’Grady, captain (Granagh-Ballingarry), Paudie Ahern (Kilteely-Dromkeen), Paul Browne (Bruff), James Ryan (Garryspillane), Conor Allis (Croom), David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca), Niall Moran (Ahane), Mark Carmody (Patrickswell).