Limerick MHC - Doon to meet Patrickswell in minor hurling final

Doon will play Patrickswell in this year’s Limerick MHC final after they got the better of Ballybrown and Na Piarsaigh respectively in the semi-finals in the Gaelic Grounds on Tuesday night.

Doon will play Patrickswell in this year’s Limerick MHC final after they got the better of Ballybrown and Na Piarsaigh respectively in the semi-finals in the Gaelic Grounds on Tuesday night.

Doon 2-9 Ballybrown 0-12

THEY made hard work of it for long periods but Doon booked their place in this year’s Limerick MHC final thanks to a three-point win over Ballybrown under the lights in the Gaelic Grounds on Tuesday night.

A goal from Barry Murphy with ten minutes remaining was the deciding factor as Doon finally pulled clear from a Ballybrown side inspired by the prolific Brian Griffin who scored all 12 of his side’s points.

Ballybrown were quick out of the traps with two early points from Griffin but a fortuitous goal from Dean Coleman got Doon moving and they were 1-4 to 0-5 up at the break.

The heroics of Cian Hedderman kept Ballybrown in contention in the second half but Doon finally got one past him in the 50th minute when Barry Murphy got on the end of a rebounded Coleman effort. That put Doon three clear and they finished the job from there.

SCORERS - Doon: Barry Murphy 1-2 (0-2 frees), Dean Coleman 1-1, Darragh O’Donovan (both ‘65s) and Pat Ryan 0-2 each, Tony Berkery and Raymond Ryan 0-1 each. Ballybrown: Brian Griffin 0-12 (eight frees, two ‘65s)

DOON - Eoghan McNamara; Jack Hayes, Richie English, Thomas Hayes; Stephen Ryan, Darragh Stapleton, Shane O’Connell; Patrick Cummins, Darragh O’Donovan; Fiachra O’Grady, Pat Ryan, Tony Berkery; Barry Murphy, Ray Ryan, Dean Coleman. Subs: David Landers for O’Grady (50 mins)

BALLYBROWN - Cian Hedderman; Luke Doran, Cathal Flanagan, Paudie O’Connor; Donal O’Connell, Brendan Moran, Kevin Foster; Lee Doolin, Brian Griffin; Cillian Galvin, Kenny Power, Andrew Cliff; Mike Davern, Ross Griffin, Robert O’Grady. Sub: Aaron O’Reilly for Gavin (51 mins)

REFEREE - Jason Mullins (St Kieran’s)

Patrickswell 2-12 Na Piarsaigh 0-12

TWO goals in a three-minute spell in the first half were crucial as Patrickswell saw off the challenge of holders Na Piarsaigh in the first semi-final in the Gaelic Grounds on Tuesday night.

Cian Lynch got the first after 15 minutes to put his side 1-2 to 0-2 up and after a long-range Diarmuid Byrnes pointed free, Paul O’Brien pounced on 17 minutes for his side’s second goal.

That helped Patrickswell to a 2-8 to 0-4 lead at the break but Na Piarsaigh were much better on the resumption and inspired by David Dempsey, Will O’Donoghue and Ronan Lynch, they hit five unanswered points to close the gap to seven. Andrew Carroll stopped the rot with his fourth point for the ‘Well but despite three more points from Lynch, Na Piarsaigh couldn’t get the goal they needed and Patrickswell hung on.

SCORERS - Patrickswell: Andrew Carroll 0-5 (four frees), Cian Lynch 1-2, Paul O’Brien 1-1, Kevin O’Brien and Diramuid Byrnes (both frees) 0-2 each. Na Piarsaigh: Ronan Lynch 0-6 (four frees), David Dempsey 0-3 (one free), Will O’Donoghue 0-2, Thomas Grimes 0-1

patrickswell - John Tuohy; Paul Joyce, James Carrig, Keith Cawley; Keith Dundon, Diarmuid Byrnes, Neil Carmody; Cian Lynch, David Woulfe; Kevin O’Brien, Andrew Carroll, Jason Carey; Jack Kelliher, Paul O’Brien, Aaron Gillane.

na piarsaigh - Evan Condon; Gordon Brown, Mark Buckley, Lee Coughlan; Michael Casey, Michael Foley, Dean McLoughlin; Evan O’Brien, William O’Donoghue; Ronan Lynch, Josh O’Halloran, David Dempsey; Kieran Daly, Eoghan Keogh, Evan Egan. Subs: Thomas Grimes for Daly (half-time), Conor Houlihan for Egan (half time), Dylan Cronin for O’Brien (56 mins), Michael Andrews for O’Halloran (injured - 60 mins)

referee - Declan O’Driscoll (Ballinacurra Gaels)

- The final will be the curtain raiser to the senior final between Adare and Kilmallock on Sunday, October 7, in the Gaelic Grounds.