Allen reveals 40-man Limerick hurling panel

JOHN Allen has called up 10 new players to his Limerick senior hurling panel.

JOHN Allen has called up 10 new players to his Limerick senior hurling panel.

Allen and his management team have compiled a preliminary 40-man panel to commence preparations for the 2013 season.

All of this season’s panel are returning for pre-season training.

And, Limerick have a new physical trainer with Kilmallock native Mark Lyons joining the back room team to work alongside Allen, John Kiely, Eamonn Meskell and Donach O’Donnell.

Lyons works in the University of Limerick.

He currently teaches on the Sport and Exercise Science degree programme, and specialises in the areas of Strength and Conditioning and Sports Performance.

The newly assembled Limerick hurling panel are to get individualised gym and dietary programmes for the coming months.

Na Piarsaigh have the biggest representation on the new panel with newcomers Alan Dempsey, Adrian Breen and Cathal King boosting their numbers to six.

Robbie Egan is called up from new champions Kilmallock.

Five new players from intermediate clubs are included.

Kilteely-Dromkeen’s Paudie Ahern is the only junior hurler in the panel.

In total 23 different clubs have players included.

The new GAA guidelines for the off-season stipulate that Limerick can’t do any collective training until after December 1.

Limerick will begin their competitive season with the Waterford Crystal Cup, which will begin in mid-January to avoid a direct clash with the Fitzgibbon Cup.

Limerick will open their Allianz League Division 1B campaign on February 24 with a home tie against Antrim.

There are also home games against Carlow and Wexford and trips to Dublin and Offaly.

After the Waterford Crystal Cup, the Limerick management will cut the current preliminary panel.

Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh)

David Breen (Na Piarsaigh)

Adrian Breen (Na Piarsaigh)

Alan Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh)

Cathal King (Na Piarsaigh)

Kevin Downes (Na Piarsaigh)

Paudie O’Brien (Kilmallock)

Gavin O’Mahony (Kilmallock)

Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock)

Robert Egan (Kilmallock)

Seanie Tobin (Murroe-Boher)

Mikey Ryan (Murroe-Boher)

Seamus Hickey (Murroe-Boher)

Seanie O’Brien (Patrickswell)

Thomas O’Brien (Patrickswell)

Mark Carmody (Patrickswell)

Nickie Quaid (Effin)

Tommy Quaid (Effin)

Mark O’Connell (Glenroe)

Stephen Walsh (Glenroe)

Dave Moloney (Blackrock)

Richie McCarthy (Blackrock)

Shane O’Neill (South Liberties)

Tomas Ryan (South Liberties)

Declan Hannon (Adare)

Wayne McNamara (Adare)

Tom Condon (Knockaderry)

Donal O’Grady (Granagh-Ballingarry)

James Ryan (Garryspilllane)

Niall Moran (Ahane)

Aaron Murphy (Hospital-Herbertstown)

Paul Brown (Bruff)

Brian Geary (Monaleen)

Conor Allis (Croom)

Niall Maher (Doon)

Jack Ahern (Killeedy)

Pat Begley (Mungret)

Barry O’Connell (Kildimo-Pallaskenry)

David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca)

Paudie Ahern (Kilteely-Dromkeen)