West Limerick out of Corn Ui Mhuiri

WEST Limerick Colleges bowed out of the Corn Ui Mhuiri this Wednesday afternoon.

WEST Limerick Colleges bowed out of the Corn Ui Mhuiri this Wednesday afternoon.

The amalgamation side were knocked out of the Munster senior A colleges football championship at the quarter-final stage by Nemo Rangers backed side, Colaiste Chriost Ri.

The game took place in bitterly cold conditions in Mallow as the Cork city side advance to play St Brendan’s College Killarney in the semi-final after they beat St Flannan’s in their last eight tie.

In this quarter-final tie, the Limerick men were lefy to rue a number of missed goal chances in either half.

The testing underfoot conditions made open football diffiicult for both sides and as a reuslt scores were at a premium.

At the end of the opening half, the Cork side were 0-4 to 0-1 ahead.

Jack Breen scored the one point of the half for the Limerick men.

But it was missed goals chances that were to prove costly.

Again after the break, Breen added another score for West Limerick but entering the final stages it was 0-6 to 0-2 to the Cork side.

Then West Limerick came close to a break through whe Gavin Reidy got a fist to a high ball into the goalmouth.

However, the goalkeeper saved.

Jamie O’Connor did point from the resulting ‘45 but the goal that West Limerick needed never came.

While disappointed to crash out the West Limerick side certainly won many fans in their debut year.

West Limerick Colleges won two of their three group outings.

They lost narrowly to Chorca Dhuibhne in round one, while they followed this up with win over Clonmel CBS and North Clare Schools.

While Colaiste Chriots Ri arrived in the quarter-final undefeated, they had only played two games.

The Cork side beat St Flannan’s of Ennis in round one and then drew with Colaiste na Sceilge in their second group game.

West Limerick Colleges is an amalgamation of Colaiste na Trocaire of Rathkeale, Colaiste Ide agus Iosef Abbeyfeale and SMI Newcastle West.

The Limerick side were managed by teachers; Garrett Noonan (Rathkeale), David Keannelly and Diarmuid O’Connell (Abbeyfeale) and John Collins and Diarmuid Crowley (Newcastle West).

WEST LIMERICK SCHOOLS - Maurice O’Keeffe (Brosna); Aaron O’Connor (Duagh), John Murphy (Fr Caseys), Sean Murphy ( Newcastle West); Daniel Daly (Fr Caseys), Shane Fitzmaurice (Brosna – Captain), Darren Jones (St Marys-Sean Finns); David Condron (Granagh-Ballingarry), Gavin Reidy (Newcastle West); Kieran Lucey (Duagh), Cian Sheehan (Newcastle West), Jamie O’Connor (Fr Caseys); Jack Breen (Fr Caseys), Eamon Prendiville (Brosna), Eoin O’Donnell (St Marys-Sean Finns). Subs: Sean Ivess (Newcastle West) for Prenderville, Cathal Broderick (Fr Caseys) for Lucey, Shane Lynch (St Kierans) for Daly. Panel members: Jonathan Lyons (Fr Caseys), Raymond Noonan (St Kierans), Joey Healy (Newcastle West), Mikey Morrissey (St Marys-Sean Finns), Daniel Fitzgerald (Brosna), Shane Stack (Newcastle West), TJ Lane (Fr Caseys), Kieran O’Donnell (Brosna), James Guina (Feoghanagh-Castlemahon), , Liam O’Connor (Fr Caseys), Frank Geary (St Marys-Sean Finns), Stephen O’Kelly (Croom), Timmy Finnegan (Brosna), Cormac Roche (Fr Caseys).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.