Limerick JBFC - Newcastle West crowned champions

Newcastle West were crowned Limerick JBFC winners after a 2-10 to 1-9 win over Patrickswell in Ballyagran.

Newcastle West were crowned Limerick JBFC winners after a 2-10 to 1-9 win over Patrickswell in Ballyagran.

Kevin O’Shea made it a day to remember for both Newcastlewest and his team in Ballyagran on Sunday. Introduced as a sub coming up to the three-quarter mark, he was on hand to finish two cracking goals in the space of five minutes to break Patrickswell hearts and bring the county junior B football title back to the West Limerick capital.

Although Newcastle won most of the early primary possession, they were contained by Patrickswell’s industry before Michael Martin opened the scoring and they looked as if they were putting their stamp on proceedings when Keith Power and Declan Brouder’s free widened the gap. However, once the ball entered their own half, they were stretched by the inventiveness of the City champions’ finishers and their willingness to take the shot whenever the chance opened up. Jack Kelleher, Laurence Consisine and Kelleher again had the sides level and they looked like taking over when Mark Carmody’s snap shot put them in front.

John Lydon eased the pressure by winning the next few kickouts and the Magpies were back in the groove when Brouder’s equalising free was followed by Conor Fitzgerald intercepting the quick kickout to point.

Another Brouder free came from a late tackle before Power fisted Newcastle into a lead of 0-7 to 0-4 at the break.

Although Jonathan Carey doubled scores right from the restart, the West champions wasted several chances to move further ahead before Fitzgerald followed. But once again, the shape around the middle began to sag and the Well hit back through David Woulfe’s free, Kelleher and Carmody. When sub Brian Murray brought the gap back to the minimum with his first touch of the ball, the Magpies faced a crisis but responded immediately to put six flashing passes together which ended with O’Shea crashing to the net.

The Well had the opportunity to hit back but Darragh Bennis blasted just wide of the posts and that miss was compounded when O’Shea burst onto Power’s lay-off for his second goal. Considine replied within a minute by giving no chance to stop his piledriver but Brouder killed any possible revival stone dead as his point from distance put five between the sides.

SCORERS, NEWCASTLEWEST: Kevin O’Shea 2-0, Declan Brouder 0-4 (3 frees), Keith Power, Conor Fitzgerald 0-2 each, Michael Martin, Jonathon Carey 0-1 each; PATRICKSWELL: Laurence Considine 1-2, Jack Kelleher 0-3, Mark Carmody 0-2, David Woulfe (free), Brian Murray 0-1 each.

PATRICKSWELL: Garry Murphy; Jason Griffin, Mark Griffin, Brian O’Sullivan; Seán O’Brien, Nigel Foley, Dean Cawley; Brian Byrnes, Paul O’Grady; Mark Carmody, Barry Foley, Laurence Considine; Jack Kelleher, Shane Dinnage, David Woulfe. SUBS: Darragh Bennis for Shane Dinnage (half-time), Diarmuid Byrnes for Dean Cowley (40 mins), Brian Murray for David Woulfe (46 mins), Paul O’Connor for Brian Byrnes (56 mins), Patrick Woulfe for Jason Griffin (59 mins).

NEWCASTLE WEST: James Stack; Conor Fanning, Tony Kelly, Seoirse Joyce; Michael O’Leary, Seán Barrett, James O’Sullivan; John Lydon, Cian Sheehan; Michael Martin, Declan Brouder, Ronan Kelleher; Jonathan Carey, Conor Fitzgerald, Keith Power. SUBS: Kevin O’Shea for Michael Martin (42 mins), Mike Mulcahy for Conor Fanning (52 mins), James Hennessy for Tony Kelly (59 mins), Seanie Gleeson for Keith Power (59 mins), Willie Kavanagh for Ronan Kelleher (59 mins).

REFEREE: Denis Richardson (Murroe-Boher).

See the weekend print edition of the Limerick Leader for a full report.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.