Limerick IFC Final - Pallasgreen win at last

PALLASGREEN needed extra time to finally get the better of Claughaun (0-15 to 1-11) in a thrilling Limerick IFC final in Bruff on Saturday.

PALLASGREEN needed extra time to finally get the better of Claughaun (0-15 to 1-11) in a thrilling Limerick IFC final in Bruff on Saturday.

Two weeks after drawing in normal time, the sides met for the third time in this championship and just like the two meetings before, they were inseperable after 60 minutes. Again it was a Tim Byrnes free that levelled things up for the city side. But in the additional 20 minutes, Pallasgreen got their noses in front and Aidan Shanahan’s free in the second period of extra time finally proved to be the winning score.

The game ebbed and flowed memorably in normal time. Pallas were on top in midfield but Claughaun’s pacy forwards had them on the back foot and a brilliant goal from Jamie McGarry helped them to a 1-6 to 0-7 lead at half time.

Claughaun could have been out of sight early in the second half but three missed goal chances in the opening six minutes was their undoing and slowly Pallasgreen worked their way back into it. They looked to have won it late on but Byrnes brought it to extra time.

There Pallas finally finished the job.

SCORERS – Pallasgreen: Robert O’Donnell 0-4, Chris McMahon 0-3 (all frees), Kevin Barry (one free), Aidan Shanahan (two frees) and Trevor Cosgrove 0-2 each, Seamus Mulcahy and Owen Roche 0-1 each; Claughaun: Tim Byrnes 0-7 (four frees), Jamie McGarry 1-1, Jamie Richardson 0-3

PALLASGREEN – Denis O’Connor; Diarmuid Hayes, Wayne McCarthy, Kevin Dillon; Seamus Hayes, Lorcan O’Dwyer, Eddie Mulcahy; Tony McMahon, Jonathan Deere; Aidan Shanahan, Seamus Mulcahy, Chris McMahon; Kevin Barry, Robert O’Donnell, Alan Wallace. Subs: Trevor Cosgrave for C McMahon (37 mins), Pa Hennessy for Barry (49 mins), Owen Roche for Wallace (49 mins),Willie O’Dwyer for S Hayes (50 mins), Liam McMahon for D Hayes (59 mins), Chris McMahon for S Mulcahy (extra time)

CLAUGHAUN – Tony McCarthy; Sam Mullins, Garreth Kennedy, Robbie Hannon; Pat McGarry, Jack Molyneaux, Philip Judge; Cian Byrnes, Thomas O’Grady; Jamie McGarry, Adrian Healy, Mark O’Halloran; Gary Bateman, Tim Byrnes, Jamie Richardson. Subs: Emmet Harty for Molyneaux (25 mins), Jeffrey Judge for Bateman (half time), Gary O’Connor for O’Halloran (half time), Mark O’Halloran for Mullins (extra time), Dan Roche for Healy (extra time), Lee O’Meara for C Byrnes (extra time)

REFEREE – Shane Hourigan (St Mary’s-Sean Finns)

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.