Search our Archive


Limerick quartet lead way for Munster hurlers

LIMERICK led the way as Munster advanced to the final of hurling’s inter-provincial series.

LIMERICK led the way as Munster advanced to the final of hurling’s inter-provincial series.

The Liam Sheedy managed Munster were 3-20 to 1-14 winners over Ulster in Armagh’s Athletic Grounds on Sunday.

While there was success for the Munster hurlers, the provincial footballers were out of luck.

They lost to Ulster 1-14 to 1-13 with a late fight back just falling short.

Four Limerick men were in the Munster hurling starting team - Tom Condon and Wayne McNamara in defence and Shane Dowling and Graeme Mulcahy in attack.

Dowling and Mulcahy led the scoring charts for Munster.

Kilmallock’s Mulcahy scored 2-2 from play with both goals coming in the first half.

Na Piarsaigh’s Dowling ended with seven points from placed balls.

A fifth Limerick man, Gavin O’Mahony was introduced during the game.

Munster play Connacht in the final on March 3.

Meanwhile, in the football inter-provincial series Ger Collins was the only Limerick man in the starting team, which was managed by Cork’s Ger O’Sullivan and Limerick football manager Maurice Horan as selector.

John Riordan was introduced as a sub, while Tom Lee was also part of the panel.

MUNSTER HURLING - Anthony Nash; Shane O’Neill (both Cork), Tom Condon (Limerick), Noel Connors (Waterford); Brendan Bugler (Clare), Michael Walsh (Waterford), Wayne McNamara (Limerick); Pat Cronin (Cork), Shane McGrath (Tipperary); Shane Dowling (Limerick), Patrick Maher (Tipperary); Paudie O’Sullivan (Cork); Graeme Mulcahy (Limerick), Brian O’Meara (Tipperary), Patrick Horgan (Cork). Subs: Pauric Mahony (Waterford) for Horgan (51mins), Shane Daniels (Waterford) for Connors (51mins); Gavin O’Mahony (Limerick) for Bugler (54mins), Brendan Maher (Tipperary) for McGrath (54mins); Shane Sullivan (Tipperary) for P Maher (61mins).

Scorers for Munster: G Mulcahy 2-2; S Dowling 0-7 (1 ‘65, 6frees); P Horgan (0-6frees) P O’Sullivan 1-2; P Cronin, S McGrath, B O’Meara 0-1 each.

MUNSTER FOOTBALL - Brendan Kealy; Marc Ó Sé, Aidan O’Mahony (all Kerry), Paul Codd (Tipperary); Noel O’Leary, Eoin Cadogan, Paudie Kissane (all Cork); Gary Brennan (Clare), Aidan Walsh (Cork); Paul Kerrigan, Donncha O’Connor (both Cork), Alan Clohessy (Clare); Colm O’Neill (Cork), Gary Hurney (Waterford), Ger Collins (Limerick). Subs: Maurice O’Gorman (Waterford) for Codd (29mins); Brian O’Driscoll (Cork) for Clohessy (32mins); Rory Donnelly (Clare) for Kerrigan (67mins), John Riordan (Limerick) for Collins (67mins).

Scorers for Munster: C O’Neill 0-5 (5frees); D O’Connor 1-0 (pen); A Walsh 0-2; G Collins, G Brennan, M Ó Sé, B O’Driscoll, P Kerrigan, A O’Mahony 0-1 each.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.