Limerick announce U21 football team

Limerick senior Darragh Treacy pictured during the Allianz League win over Carlow
THE Limerick U-21 football team has been finalised for this Wednesday night’s Munster championship semi-final.

THE Limerick U-21 football team has been finalised for this Wednesday night’s Munster championship semi-final.

Limerick play Cork in the provincial semi-final in the Gaelic Grounds at 7.30.

While the Shannonsiders received a bye into the last four, Cork overcame Kerry to advance to Wednesday night’s semi-final.

Limerick will be backboned by five members of Maurice Horan’s senior panel.

U21 captain James O’Meara has been a senior regular in this season’s league, while Iain Corbett and Darragh Treacy have also seen league action.

Danny Neville and Sean Sheahan complete the senior contingent, while U21 goalkeeper James Brudair has also been involved with the seniors on a number of occasions - including last weekend in London.

Ahead of Wednesday night, all U21 players were rested for the senior’s league win in London.

Former Tipperary senior football manager Tom McGlinchey is in his first year as Limerick U21 manager, after two seasons as county minor football manager.

The Cork native is joined in his backroom team by Eamon O’Neill (Ballylanders), Conor Murphy (Monegea) and Billy Mangan (Mungret).

Also involved in the management team are Brendan Flood, logistics, (South Liberties), Johnny Daly, medical/first aid, (St Patricks) and Ciaran O’Regan (strength and conditioning).

Cork come to Limerick as the reigning Munster U21 football champions. Indeed three years ago at minor level they also won the Munster championship, before losing the All-Ireland final to Tyrone.

The last meeting of Limerick and Cork at this level was in 2007 when The Rebels were 0-17 to 0-9 winners in Pairic Ui Rinn.

The bookies certainly expect another Cork victory - making the Leesiders the hottest of 1/25 favourites, with Limerick available at 10/1.

Limerick are Cork are bidding to reach the April 10 Munster U21 final against either Tipperary or Clare.

Twelve months ago Limerick were beaten in their opening game by Clare.

Six of that side remain in the starting team - James Brudair, James O’Meara, Sean Sheahan, Darragh Treacy, Iain Corbett and Francis O’Riordan.

LIMERICK - James Brudair (Mountcollins); Stephen Cahill (Mountcollins), James O’Meara (Ballysteen), Brendan McCarthy (St Kierans); Paul White (St Marys Sean Finns, Rathkeale), Iain Corbett (Newcastle West), Sean Barrett (Kilmallock); Darragh Treacy (St Kierans), Patrick O’Donnell (Galbally); Sean Sheahan (St Marys Sean Finns, Rathkeale), Micheal Brosnan (Dromcollogher-Broadford), Danny Frewen (Ballylanders); Danny Neville (Ballysteen), Francis O’Riordan (St Senans), Peter Nash (Kildimo-Pallaskenery). Subs: James O’Meara (Fr Caseys), Bill Creamer (Cappamore), Kieran Larkin (Banogue), Jamie Lee (Newcastle West), Kevin Meade (St Kierans), Brian Noonan (Dromcologher-Broadford), Denis O’Dea (Kilteely-Dromkeen), Kevin O’Donoghue (Hospital-Herbertstown), Mike O’Leary (Newcastle West). Other panel members: Tommie Griffin (Gerald Griffins), Shane Irwin (Bruff), Steven Power (St Marys Sean Finns, Rathkeale), Shane O’Connor (Fr Caseys).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.