Four elections for Limerick GAA AGM

Jerome O’Connell


Jerome O’Connell

THERE are to be four head-to-head elections at next month’s Annual Convention of Limerick GAA.

THERE are to be four head-to-head elections at next month’s Annual Convention of Limerick GAA.

The new chairman, vice-chairman and treasurer will be deemed elected unopposed.

Initially it was thought that there would be five elections but Kilmallock’s Val Moloney withdrew from the race to succeed Liam Lenihan as Limerick GAA chairman.

That leaves Patrickswell’s Oliver Mann as the in-coming chairman.

Replacing Owen Hayes as treasurer will be Ahane’s Donal Morrissey - as he was the only nominee.

The new vice-chairman will be Blackrock’s Pat Heffernan.

The positions of chairman, treasurer, PRO, assistant secretary and assistant treasurer all had to become available at the 2012 Convention due to the five year rule.

On top of that the position of vice-chairman became vacant when Oliver Mann confirmed he is to stand only for election to the position of chairman.

So departing the County Board will be chairman Liam Lenihan, treasurer Owen Hayes, PRO Helen Cross and assistant secretary Pat Creed.

Assistant treasurer Mick McDonnell is bidding to remain on the board.

His term in that position has ended but he had now been nominated for the role of assistant secretary - the position he first held when elected to the board in 1981.

McDonnell faces opposition from just Seamus McNamara.

Currently the West Board secretary and is a former secretary of his club, Fr Caseys in Abbeyfeale.

There was to be a third candidate but Mike Rea (Effin) has withdrawn.

Indeed Rea was also nominated for the PRO position but has also withdrawn from that race.

Former Fianna Fail TD John Cregan is nominated for the position of PRO.

The Dromcollogher-Broadford club treasurer faces opposition from current City Board PRO Eamonn Phelan.

Three of the four elections will be for vacant positions.

The only out-going officer to be challenged is Irish Officer Micheal O’Riain of Pallasgreen.

He is been surprisingly challenged by former Limerick All-Star hurler Mark Foley.

The final election will be for assistant treasurer.

Former West Board chairman Johnny Brosnahan has withdrawn - leaving Con Danaher of Blackrock and Geraldine Neenan of Dromin-Athlacca.

With the departure of Helen Cross from the PRO role, Neenan is bidding to become the only female at the top table.

The Annual Convention will take place on Sunday December 16 in the Strand Hotel in Limerick City.

This week it was confirmed that the annual gathering of the clubs of Limerick will have a 1.15 in the Limerick city hotel.

As well as the elections there will be a number of motions down for decision as well as the usual end of year report from all County Board Officers.


PRO - John Cregan (Dromcollogher-Broadford) and Eamonn Phelan (St Patricks).

Irish officer - Micheal O’Riain (Pallasgreen) and Mark Foley (Adare).

ASSISTANT TREASURER - Geraldine Neenan (Dromin-Athlacca) and Con Danaher (Blackrock).

ASSISTANT SECRETARY - Mick McDonnell (Croom) and Seamus McNamara (Fr Caseys).