Limerick quartet in Dr Harty Cup

Jerome O’Connell


Jerome O’Connell

LIMERICK are to have a record number of teams in the Dr Harty Cup next season.

LIMERICK are to have a record number of teams in the Dr Harty Cup next season.

For the first time ever West Limerick Colleges are to enter the Munster senior A colleges hurling championship.

They are joined by Doon CBS, Castletroy College and Ardscoil Ris.

And, after an absence of a number of years there is a return to the Corn Ui Mhuiri with West Limerick Colleges taking part in the Munster senior A colleges football championship, as well as the hurling counterpart.

West Limerick Colleges is an amalgamation of Hazelwood College Dromcollogher, SMI in Newcastle West and Colaiste na Trocaire in Rathkeale.

Twenty one schools went into the hat — an increase of five for the Dr Harty Cup. There are four groups with the top two qualifying for the knockout stages. The opening rounds will be played on September 19.

Ardscoil Ris and Castletroy College have been drawn together in what will be a repeat of last season’s quarter-final, which the North Circular Road secondary school won. After their maiden voyage into the top division last season Castletroy should have a strong outfit this season but are paired in a difficult group.

As well as their Limerick city rivals, they will face De Le Salle Waterford, St Colamans Fermoy, Kerry Colleges and Clonmel CBS. Doon will bid to make the step-up from the B grade, where they were so successful last season. They play champions Waterford Colleges in their first game. West Limerick will play Abbey CBS of Tipp Town in round one, while will also come into oppposition with Charleville.

Fourteen schools entered the draw for the Corn Uí Mhuirí with champions Pobal Scoil Chorca Dhuibhne paired against West Limerick colleges in round one.

As in former years there will be four sections, the top two schools in each making it to the knock out stages. The opening round will commence on October 10.


Group A: DLS Waterford, Castletroy College, Ardscoil Ris, Clonmel CBS, St Colmans of Fermoy, Kerry Colleges.

Group B: Blackwater College, Our Ladys Templemore, West Limerick Colleges, Abbey CBS, Charleville CBS.

Group C: Nenagh CBS, Midleton CBS, Colaiste Chriost Rí, Hamilton High School, Thurles CBS.

Group D: Waterford Colleges, Doon CBS, Gael Colaiste Mhuire, St Flannans of Ennis, St Caimins of Shannon.


Group A: Rochestown College, DLS Macroom, ISK, West Clare Schools.

Group B: Pobal Scoil Chorcha Dhuibhne, West Limerick Schools, Clonmel CBS, North Clare Schools.

Group C: St Fachtnas, Tralee CBS, St Brendans.

Group D: Colaiste na Sceilge, St Flannan’s of Ennis, Colaiste Chriost Rí.