Limerick village has the X Factor for visiting Pride of Place judges

CASTLECONNELL has much to be proud of as it competes for the 32 county Pride of Place competition.

CASTLECONNELL has much to be proud of as it competes for the 32 county Pride of Place competition.

Judges from the Co-operation Ireland run competition are to visit the village next Wednesday, August 8.

Castleconnell has been chosen to represent Limerick in the population over 1,000 category.

The Pride of Place committee is keen to present all that is good about Castleconnell on the national stage. The judges are due to arrive at the ACM Community Centre at 10am where they will be met by a welcoming party.

Chairperson of the committee, Colm Martin, asks all locals who can attend to do so.

“We are taking this wonderful opportunity to bring all of our groups together, showcase the village and community, taking pride in its history, works and potential. We know it’s a working day but are calling on those that can, to turn up on the day to support us and allow the judges to witness the strength and vibrancy of Castleconnell and its groups, who are doing so much for the local community on our behalf,” said Mr Martin.

A brief presentation and DVD will introduce the historic village to the judges and outline its many attributes, past, present and future.

This will be followed by a tour of village landmarks and amenities, from the boat club/pier at the Worlds End to the playground and old school house by the Ferry car park.

The judges will also take the scenic nature walk down to the footbridge and up the stone steps to the Castle Oaks Hotel and All Saints Church. From here, they will return to the parish hall to view an exhibition of the numerous community groups active in the locality, talk to exhibitors and local people and experience firsthand the community spirit that is alive and well in the Shannonside village.

The Pride of Place committee is made up of representatives of the local Tidy Towns, ACM, development, as well as sports and cultural organisations.

Gobnait O’Connell, Irene Cullen, Judy O’Hare, Nicky McNamara, Barbara Hartigan, Majella Hynan, John Hardiman, Brendan Murphy, John MacNamara, Janet Harbison, Turlough Herbert, Catherine O’Doherty and Cllr Michael Sheahan join Mr Martin on the committee.

Pride of Place is designed to recognise and celebrate the vital contributions that community groups make.

See next week’s Leader for pictures showing Castleconnell pride!

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.