Limerick Writers Centre founder gets college accolade

Nick Rabbitts


Nick Rabbitts

Darragh Wynne, MISU president; Sin�ad Ryan, Croom,  Prof. Michael A Hayes, MIC president, Dominic Taylor from Roxboro, Sorcha Curtin from Clare and Michael Sheehan from Abbeyfeale. Picture: Brian Arthur/Press22
CITY man Dominic Taylor was among the prize winners as Mary Immaculate College (MIC) handed out its annual awards for excellence.

CITY man Dominic Taylor was among the prize winners as Mary Immaculate College (MIC) handed out its annual awards for excellence.

The awards, now in their fourth year, are supported equally by the Mary Immaculate College Foundation (MICF) and the Mary Immaculate College Student Union.

They are given in recognition to students who generate excellence in an area of endeavour such as music and the arts.

In order to win the prize - worth €500 - Roxboro man Dominic and his contemporaries had to dace an interview by the awarding panel.

This consisted of Dr Gary O’Brien, associate vice president of MIC and Deirdre Kennelly, general manager of Mary Immaculate Student Union (MISU).

Second year student Dominic was given the prize for his involvement in the Limerick Writers Centre.

Dom is a founder member of the centre, which he runs on a voluntary basis.

Under his watch, it has been responsible for running workshops for poetry, short stories, scrip writing and memoirs.

He also organises the ‘On the Nail’ Literary Gathering which takes place once a month in the Loft Venue, George’s Quay.

He has been responsible for the publication of over 20 books, including some first time authors.

A volunteer with Wired FM, Dominic is involved in the Creative Writing Society.

Two other students were also celebrating:

BA student Sinead Ryan from Croom won the music prize, Michael Sheehan from Abbeyfeale won a prize for his involvement with the MIC men’s soccer team.

There were also prizes for Maire Fitzgerald (Cork) and Sorcha Curtin (Clare).

MIC president Prof Michael A Hayes said: “I am delighted to be presenting a number of awards here this evening to a variety of deserving students, who give their time in the pursuit of excellence, students who represent their peers as Class Reps, students who sit on the MISU Executive Committee and students who manage the various MISU Clubs & Societies.”

The competition was open to all full-time undergraduate students who had successfully completed the first year.

Applicants had to demonstrate excellence in an area of endeavour, academic progression and involvement in college activities.

Deirdre Kennelly, MISU, said: “The awards provide us with an opportunity to learn about the great achievements of our students. We were very impressed with the high standard.”