SLIDESHOW: On this Day - June 15

Down through the years, June 15 has been a busy day for Limerick GAA supporters. 

In 1997, Munster champions Limerick lost out to near neighbours and rivals Tipperary in Thurles on a scoreline of 1-20 to 0-13 in the Munster Hurling semi final. 

Scorers for Limerick in 1997: G. Kirby (0-4), M. Houlihan (0-2), M. Galligan (0-2), D. Clerkin (0-1), M. Foley (0-1), J. Moran (0-1), B. Foley (0-1), T. J. Ryan (0-1).

In 2002, the Limerick senior footballers went to Breffni Park in Cavan and defeated the hosts 2-8 to 0-11 in the All-Ireland Qualifiers. 

Scorers for Limerick: M Reidy 0-5, J Murphy 1-1, C Mullane 1-0, S Lucey 0-1, P Ahern 0-1.

The following year, 2003, the Limerick senior footballers were once again on show, this time reaching the Munster final with a 2-14 to 0-12 win over Clare in Cusack Park in Ennis. 

Scorers for Limerick: M Gavin 0-7, C Fitzgerald 1-2, J Murphy 1-0, M Reidy 0-2, S Kelly 0-2, S Lavin 0-1.

Finally, in 2008, once again the Limerick senior footballers were in action in a heart breaking 0-12 to 2-9 loss against Cork at the Gaelic Grounds. 

Scorers for Limerick: I Ryan 0-5 (2f), M Crowley 0-4 (1f),J Galvin, S Kelly, J Cooke 0-1 each

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.