Hyde, Regional and Caherdavin claim soccer silverware

Div 3A Lipper Cup Final

Hyde Rgs 2 Glenview Rvs 1

Hyde Rgs made history on Saturday evening when they completed their first League and Cup double with a 2-1 win over Glenview in the Lipper Cup final at Jackman Park.

With the League title wrapped up earlier in the week Hyde were strong favourites going into the tie and a 2-0 lead at half time suggested things were going to script.

However an early second half goal by Glenview changed the game completely and Rovers, despite being mired in a relegation battle, showed great fighting spirit that had the Champions on the ropes for long periods. In the end Hyde held out and proved fitting champions.

Straight from the off Hyde were on the front foot and early efforts from Evan Shine and Ger Nash were just off target.

Hyde took the lead midway through the opening half. Hyde captain Richard Benn crossed from the left and Evan Sine arrived on cue to nod the ball home from close range.

Ten minutes later the lead was doubled. Good work on the left by Jonathan Somers ended with a cross into the area. Aidan O’Brien was blocked but Ger Nash was on hand to force the ball home. It was fitting that Nash should score what proved the winning goal. He has been a stalwart at the club over the years and stuck with them when things did not look so bright.

Just before the break Sean Dooley’s ball into the Hyde area was missed by millimeters by the inrunning Barry Butler.

The second half began in perfect fashion for Glenview. In the first attack they reduced the deficit. Stephen Kilcoyne’s free kick into the Hyde box was bundled over the line by Frank Lane and it was game on.

The game could have been tied when Mike Moynihan delivered a free kick into the Hyde penalty box but Frank Lane’s effort from close range rose over the crossbar.

Ben Kennedy broke clear at the other end but volleyed over from the edge of the box.

Gabriel Burke O'Dwyer went inches to an equaliser with ten minutes remaining but his turn and volley flew over from six yards to the relief of the Hyde supporters.

Thereafter Hyde defended solidly but the final whistle still came a relief.

Despite what was at stake the game continued in a sporting manner that was a credit to both clubs.

Speaking after the game on behalf of the players Jon Somers dedicated the win to Ollie Barry and Alice Jackson, two great stalwarts of the Club who passed in recent months.

Hyde Rgs: Ronan Power; Ger Nash; Ryan McCormack; Ciaran Rainsford; Mark Whelan; Gavin Hehir; Aidan O'Brien; Richard Benn; Kevin Slattery; Evan Shine; Jonathan Somers. Subs: Luke Kennedy; Ben Kennedy; James Daveron; James Slattery; Brian Slattery; Dylan Bourke

Glenview Rvs: Brendan Ahearne; Derek Lynch; Stephen Kilcoyne; Frank Lang; Cathal O'Neill; Mike O'Brien; Pat Carroll; Mike Moynihan; Barry Butler; Sean Dooley; Gabriel Burke O'Dwyer. Subs: Derek Grimes; Jeff Prenderville; Shane Brosnahan; Conor McNamara; Eoin Godfrey; Kieran O'Brien; Dan McGuire


Ger Ryan Youth Cup Final

Regional Utd 3 Aisling 1

A highly entertaining game between two talented sides saw Regional United claim the coveted Ger Ryan Cup at Jackman Park in midweek.

With the two teams battling it out for the League crown, there was always going to be little between the sides and so it proved.

Aisling took the lead with a classic breakaway goal. From a Regional corner kick, Tommy Canty took off down the left and lightning paced winger delivered on a plate for team mate Ronan O’Dwyer who kept his cool to stroke the ball past Kevin Walsh in the Regional goal.

United got back on level terms when midfield dynamo blasted home from a spot kick.

The game was evenly poised when Jamie Greaves crossed for Paudie Hartigan whose header was saved by Aisling keeper Sean Hamm but cruelly for the keeper the ball’s momentum took it over the line and Regional were ahead.

With Aisling committed to a search for an equaliser they were hit with a third goal. Again Greaves was the provider and David O’Connell provided the front post finish to wrap up the win.

Regional Utd; Kevin Walsh, Conor Ryan, Killian Scanlon, Jack O Donovan, Bill Phelan, Sean Erasmus, Alex Angland, Ewan O'Brien, Paudie Hartigan, Jamie Greaves, David O'Connell, Subs; Craig Prendergast, Eoghan Burke, Michal Zalewski, Ian Downes,

Aisling; Sean Hamm, Ciaran Fitzgerald, Billy McNamara, Darragh Kileen, Eoin Madigan, Rhys Foley, Ronan O'Dwyer, Eoghan Bourke, Paul Brennan, Caimin Ayers,

Tommy Canty, Subs; Aidan Walker, Mark Collins, Christopher Nwankwo, Cian Lynch, Donnacha O'Dailagh, Venkat Dohl


J Carroll U17 Cup Final

Caherdavin Celtic 4 Corbally Utd 1

The Under 17 Carroll Cup went as expected on Thursday evening when League challengers Caherdavin beat Corbally 4-1 at local headquarters.

The scoreline suggests an easy ride for the winners but Corbally gave as good as they got for most of the game. However Celtic proved more clinical in front of goal and with their centre backs Adam Koyce and Mark Moylan dominant, held on to win the tie.

Caherdavin took the lead when Ben Frost fired in from the rebound after James Madden had made a fine save to deny Kyle Mullins.

Corbally levelled before the break with another rebound. Ethan Hannon’s free kick struck the crossbar and Darragh Varley reacted quickest to head home.

After the break Caherdavin restored their advanatge again when Frost netted his second with a fine goal.

Celtic opened the crucial two goal gap with a 35 yarder from Sam Hanrahan that bounced awkwardly for Madden.

The winners wrapped up the scoring when Daniel Daly teed up Alex Malone to score from close range.

Caherdavin Celtic: Dylan Higgins; Niall Barrett; Ben Irwin; Mark Moylan; Adam Koyce; Aidan Burke; Russell Hoban; Daniel Daly; Ben Frost; Kane Connolly; Kyle Mullins. Subs: Sam Hanrahan; Alex Malone; Alan Gill; Cian Connolly; Shane Hayes

Corbally Utd: James Madden; Sean Tracey; Cillian Higgins; Evan McCarthy; Joe Dougan; Darragh McGleenan; Ben Pearse; Darragh Forde; Darragh Varley; Adam Ingle; Ethan Hannon. Subs: Scott Bridges; Adam Fitzgerald; Liam Kelly

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.