Search our Archive


SLIDESHOW: Na Piarsaigh GAA launch book to mark 50th anniversary

The Na Piarsaigh GAA club held a very successful 50th Anniversary book launch on Easter Saturday night with GAA President John Horan in attendance.

Past players and members mingled with current members as they listened to PRO Derek Giltenan give account of the tremendous work it took to produce such a book.

The City based club also the first Citizen of the City and County James Collins along with Seamus McNamara of Limerick County Board and newly elected Chairman of the Munster Council Liam Lenihan in attendance,  each heaping praise on the club for its contribution to Gaelic Games and also to the wider area of Caherdavin, Ashbrook, North Circular Road and Ennis Road areas.

Chairman Risteard O Flaherty commended the  book committee which included Ann Kennedy, Jean Maxwell, Aidan Ryan, Bill Kiely, Donal Hartnett, Frank Kavanagh, Seoirse Laffan, Cathal Minihane, Eoin Moriarty and Derek Gitlenan.

Following a brief break for book sales it was back to presentations music and dance. 

A great night was had by all and heres to another 50th years for the light blues. 

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.